Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Line pushing for McCoy to win rushing title

With two games left, LeSean McCoy trails Jacksonville's Maurice Jones-Drew by just 60 yards in the NFL rushing race. Jones-Drew has 1,334 yards. McCoy has 1,274.

Just one Eagle running back ever has won the league rushing crown. That was Hall of Famer Steve Van Buren who won it four times.

While the Eagles' main priority is making the playoffs, McCoy's offensive linemen would love to help him win the rushing title as well.

"Having him win the title and getting him those yards would be big because it would translate to a win for us,'' said left guard Evan Mathis.

``It's not something we're thinking directly about. It's one of those things you can reflect on after the season. It would be cool to say we had the leading rusher after the season. But it's not something that's going to cause us to change what we're doing right now. We're going to go out and do our best to get him all the yards we can. But we're doing it to get a win not to get (McCoy) the rushing title.''

Said center Jason Kelce: ``We want LeSean to get it, but not at the sacrifice of the season. I'm all for him getting as much notoriety and publicity as he can because he should get it. He's one of the best in the league.''