Skip to content
Philadelphia Politics
Link copied to clipboard

Kenney names 27 members to Commission on Women

One year after Philadelphia voters approved the creation of Commission on Women, an executive director and 27 members have been named.

One year after Philadelphia voters approved the creation of Commission on Women, an executive director and 27 members have been named.

Jovida Hill, formerly a member of the mayor's office of diversity and inclusion, will be executive director of the commission, which is intended to advance public policies that enhance the lives of women.

"We want to look at the issues that affect women in public spaces and in the workplace and what policies lead to a more just and equitable society for women and their families," Hill said in a statement. "It is absolutely appalling that in this day and age, women still make 77 cents to every dollar that a man makes."

The mayor's office said Hill on July 1 will transition to the mayor's office of public engagement, under which the commission is housed. Hill, who makes a $70,000 salary, will primarily spend her time on work related to the commission but also at times might with other offices such as the office of black male engagement and the diversity office, the mayor's office said.

The other 27 members, who were appointed by the mayor and City Council and will meet six times per year, are all volunteers. They are:

  1. Denise McGregor Armbrister, Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo Corporation and Executive Director of the Wells Fargo Regional Foundation

  2. Karen Bojar, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of English and Women's Studies at the Community College of Philadelphia

  3. Larissa T. Cahill, advocate for safe streets as a volunteer for the Queen Village Neighbors Association

  4. Morgan Cephas, Democratic nominee for PA General Assembly, 192nd District

  5. Dawn Chavous, President of Chavous Consulting

  6. Tara Chupka, Esq. Counsel for the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local Union 98 (IBEW)

  7. Vanessa L. Fields, Vice President of the American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) District Council 47 (Local 2187)

  8. Marleny Franco, MD., Physician in the Department of Emergency Medicine at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

  9. Felicia Harris, President and CEO of Influencing Action Movement (IAM)

  10. Lisa Holgash, Organized Labor Activist

  11. Roxanne Horrell, Esq. Legislative Counsel to Councilwoman Blackwell

  12. Farzana Rashid Hossain, MD, faculty for the Urogynecology Fellowship, Urogynecology Division of the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

  13. Lois (Soon Chun) Kang Director of Urban Policy and International Affairs for Councilman At-Large David Oh

  14. Waleska Maldonado, Chief Programs Officer for Congreso de Latinos Unidos

  15. Noelle L. Marconi, legislative director for Councilman William Greenlee

  16. Danielle McDermond, Administrative and Constituent Services Assistant for Councilman Brian O'Neill

  17. Kathleen R. Padilla, Director of the Office of Business Diversity for the Philadelphia International Airport

  18. Rachael J. Pritzker, Esq. Legislative Counsel to Councilman Allan Domb

  19. Betzaida Rosario, Sales Manager for La Mega Hispanic Radio Station

  20. Jennifer Slavic, Constituent Services Representative for Councilman Mark Squilla

  21. Maggie Stauffer, 2018 candidate for her Ed.D in Student Affairs Leadership from Widener University

  22. Shelley Sylva, Esq., First Vice President, Senior Manager of Legal Operations and Governance for TD Bank

  23. Julia Terry, Program Director at ArtWell

  24. Anne Wakabayashi, Executive Director of Emerge PA

  25. Leigh N. Whitaker, Esq., Vice President of Communications for the Sugar House Casino

  26. Tiphanie White, Constituent Services Representative and Special Events Coordinator for Councilman Kenyatta Johnson

  27. Tonie Willis, Founder of Ardella's House

Click here for's politics page.