Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich has been named the American Athletic Association Defensive Player of the Year. Matakevich has 118 tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks and five interceptions for the 10-2 Owls.

He is the leader of a Temple team that leads the AAC in scoring defense, allowing 18.8 points per game.

Matakevich also was the only player to be unanimously named to The AAC first team.

Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds was the AAC Offensive Player of the Year. Memphis place kicker Jake Elliott was the Special Team Player of the year, while Central Florida freshman receiver Tre-Quan Smith was Rookie of the Year.

The AAC coaches of the year were Houston's Tom Herman and Navy's Ken Niumatalolo.

In addition, Matakevich was named one of four finalists for the Lott Impact Award, given to the defensive player whose personal character is equal to his athletic performances. The other finalists are Duke safety Jeremy Cash, Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib (a Malvern Prep graduate) and Ohio State

Previously, Matakevich was named one of three finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the College defensive player of the year.