Temple's Matt Rhule is among eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be revealed on Dec. 16.

The other finalists are Michigan State's Mark Dantonio, Iowa's Kirk Ferentz, Houston's Tom Herman, Notre Dame's Brian Kelly, Stanford's David Shaw, Oklahoma's Bob Stoops and Clemson's Dabo Swinney

Voting for the award is done by The Football Writers Association of America.

Rhule has guided the Owls to a 10-3 record and the East Division title in the American Athletic Association this season.

After losing to Houston, 24-13 in the AAC championship game on Saturday, Temple accepted a bid the next day to play in the Boca Raton Bowl, Dec. 22 against Toledo.

Rhule is 18-19 in his three seasons at Temple, but the Owls have shown great improvement each year, going from 2-10 to 6-6 to this year's mark. The Owls would set a single-season school record if they are able to beat Toledo in the bowl game.