Three professors honored at Widener

CHESTER Betsy Crane, Stephen Madigosky, and Scott Van Bramer were honored last week as distinguished university professors at Widener.

A new initiative at the school, the designation recognizes faculty members for excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service.

As such, Crane, Madigosky, and Van Bramer will hold the designation for three years and receive an award of $2,500 for each year of the appointment.

To be eligible for the honor, a faculty member must be tenured and hold the rank of professor, be identified by students and colleagues as an outstanding teacher, have achieved national or international recognition for scholarly research, and have made significant contribution as a leader at the university.

Crane joined Widener in 2007 as professor and director of the graduate programs in human sexuality. Madigosky, who joined Widener in 1989, is responsible for the concept and creation of the Science Teaching Center and the Geographic Information Systems Laboratory.

The 2014 recipient of the Fitz Dixon innovation in teaching award, Van Bramer joined the Widener faculty in 1994 and served as chair of the chemistry department from 2004 to 2012.

- Inquirer staff