Top Regional Attractions

Philadelphia

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University

1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-299-1000.

» READ MORE: www.ansp.org

. Robert M. Peck & Patricia Tyson Stroud: A Glorious Enterprise. 4/25. 6:30-8:30 pm. $12; $10 seniors, students, military, children 3-12; free for children under 3. 10 am-4:30 pm Mon.-Fri., 10 am-5 pm Sat.-Sun..

African American Museum 701 Arch St.; 215-574-0380. www.aampmuseum.org. Rodney Glen King & Cynthia Kelley: The Riot Within. 4/26. 6-8 pm. $10; $8 seniors, students and children. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

American Philosophical Society Museum 104 S. 5th St.; 215-440-3400. www.apsmuseum.org. Donations accepted. 10 am-4 pm Fri.-Sun..

American Swedish Historical Museum 1900 Pattison Ave.; 215-389-1776. www.americanswedish.org. Featuring exhibits dedicated to Swedish American history. $6; $5 seniors & students; free for children under 12. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-4 pm, Sat.-Sun. noon-4 pm.

American Women's Heritage Society Underground Railroad Museum 2000 Belmont Mansion Dr.; 215-878-8844. www.belmontmansion.org. Winter: Tue.-Fri. 11 am-5 pm. Summer: Tue.-Sun. 11 am-5 pm:.

Bartram's Garden 54th St.; 215-729-5281. www.bartramsgarden.org. America's oldest living botanical garden. Grounds: Daily 10 am-5 pm. Tours: Mar.-2nd week of Dec.: noon-4 pm.

Betsy Ross House 239 Arch St.; 215-686-1252. www.betsyrosshouse.org. $4; $3 seniors, military & children under 13. Jan.-Feb.: Wed.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Mar.-Sep.: Daily 10 am-5 pm; Oct.-Dec.: Tue-Sun. 10 am-5 pm.

Christ Church 2nd & Market Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Visit the "Nation's Church" to sit where Washington and Franklin did. Donation suggested: $3; $2 students. Mon.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm; Sun. 1 pm-5 pm. Closed Mon. and Tues. in Jan. and Feb..

Christ Church Burial Ground 5th & Arch Sts.; 215-922-1695. www.christchurchphila.org. Final resting place of Benjamin Franklin & 4 other signers of the Declaration of Independence. $2; $1 students; $10 groups up to 25. Mon-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. noon-4 pm.

Eastern State Penitentiary 22nd St. & Fairmount Ave.; 215-236-3300. www.easternstate.org. The vaulted, sky-lit cells of this prison once held many of America's most notorious criminals. $12; $10 seniors; $8 students & children 7-12. Children under 7 cannot be admitted to the site. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

Edgar Allan Poe National Historical Site Spring Garden St.; 215-597-8780. www.nps.gov/edal. Home of the noted author from 1843-44. Free. 9 am-5 pm Wed.-Sun..

Elfreth's Alley Second St.; 215-574-0560. www.elfrethsalley.org. $2; $1 children 6-18. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Fairmount Water Works Interpretive Center 640 Waterworks Dr.; 215-685-0723. www.fairmountwaterworks.com. Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. 1-5 pm.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia 100 N. 6th St.; 866-574-3727. www.philadelphiafed.org. Free. Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-4:30 pm. Open weekends Jun.-Aug. Closed bank holidays..

Fort Mifflin Fort Mifflin Rd.; 215-685-4167. www.fortmifflin.us. $6; $5 seniors; $3 kids 5-12 & veterans; free for kids under 5. Wed.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

The Franklin Institute 222 N. 20th St.; 215-448-1200. www.fi.edu. Cancer and Our Genome: Insight and Hope. 4/23. 6 pm. Sci-Pass: $16.50; $15.50 seniors, students & military; $12.50 children. IMAX show times vary. Permanent exhibits open daily 9:30 am-5 pm..

Franklin Square 6th & Race Sts.; 215-629-4026. www.historicphiladelphia.org. Philadelphia Park Liberty Carousel. $2.50; free for children under 2. Daily 10 am-9 pm thru Labor Day.

Historic Philadelphia Center 6th and Chestnut Sts.; 215-629-4026. historicphiladelphia.org. Independence After Hours. $80; $75 seniors, students and military; $50 children 12 and under. Mon. 9 am-7 pm; Tue.-Sat. 10 am-7 pm.

Independence Hall Chestnut St.; 800-537-7676. www.nps.gov/inde/independence-hall-1.htm. Guided Tour - Explore this historic example of Georgian architecture. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Independence National Historical Park 6th & Market Sts.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde/. Most sites free. Daily 8:30 am-5 pm.

Independence Seaport Museum 211 S. Columbus Blvd.; 215-925-5439. www.phillyseaport.org. PCMS Concert: Musicians From Marlboro III. $23. 4/26. 8 pm. $12; $10 seniors; $7 children/students/military; free for children under 2. 10 am-5 pm daily.

Independence Visitor Center N. 6th St. & Market St.; 800-537-7676. www.independencevisitorcenter.com/. Open daily 8:30 am-6 pm.

Laurel Hill Cemetery 3822 Ridge Ave.; 215-228-8200. www.thelaurelhillcemetery.org. Titanic: The 100th Anniversary. $75; $68 students and seniors. 4/21. 3 pm. Free. Mon.-Fri. 8 am-4:30 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Laurel Hill Mansion East Fairmount Park; 215-235-1776. www.fairmountpark.org/LaurelHill.asp/. Georgian-style mansion built in 1767 by Rebecca Rawle. $5. .

Liberty Bell Center 501 Market St.; 215-965-2305. www.nps.gov/inde. Home of the Liberty Bell & exhibits on its origins & role as symbol of freedom. Free. Mon.-Fri .9 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm.

Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania 100 E. Northwestern Ave.; 215-247-5777. www.morrisarboretum.org. $16; $14 seniors; $7 students & youth 3-17; free for children under 3. Hours vary throughout year.

The Mutter Museum 19 S. 22nd St.; 215-563-3737. www.muttermuseum.org. Over 200 wet & dry specimens, lantern slides, x-rays & more. $15; $13 military & seniors; $10 students & children 6-17; free for children 5 & under. Daily 10 am-5 pm.

National Constitution Center 525 Arch St.; 215-409-6600. www.constitutioncenter.org. 1787 copy on display plus more than 100 interactive exhibits. From Asbury Park to the Promised Land: The Life & Music of Bruce Springsteen. $24.50; $23 seniors and students; $12 children 4-12; free for active military and children 3 and under. Regular admission: $12; $11 seniors; $8 children 4-12; free for children under 4 & military (audio tour $3). Mon.-Fri. 9:30 am-5 pm, Sat. 9:30 am-6 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

National Liberty Museum 321 Chestnut St.; 215-925-2800. www.libertymuseum.org. $7; $6 seniors; $5 students; $2 youth 5-17; free for members & children under 5. Open 7 days a week (closed Mon. fall, winter, spring).

National Museum of American Jewish History 101 S. Independence Mall East; 215-923-3811. www.nmajh.org. $12; $11 seniors & youth 13-21; free for children 12 & under. Tue.-Fri. 10 am-5 pm; Sat.-Sun 10 am-5:30 pm.

Philadelphia History Museum at the Atwater Kent 15 S. 7th St.; 215-685-4830. www.philadelphiahistory.org. Free. Wed.-Sat. 11 am-4 pm.

Philadelphia Museum of Art 26th St. & Benjamin Franklin Pkwy.; 215-763-8100. www.philamuseum.org. Van Gogh Up Close. $25; $23 seniors; $20 students and children 13-18; $12 children 5-12; free for children 4 an d under. UCP Life Without Limits 5K. 4/26. 6:15 pm. $16; $14 seniors 65 and over; $12 students and children 12-18; free for children under 12. Tue.-Thu., Sat.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Fri. 10 am-8:45 pm.

The Philadelphia Zoo 3400 W. Girard Ave.; 215-243-1100. www.philadelphiazoo.org. Trail of the Lorax. $18; $15 children; free for members & children under 2. Daily 9:30 am-4 pm.

Polish American Cultural Center & Museum 308 Walnut St.; 215-922-1700. www.polishamericancenter.org. Free. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm.

Ryerss Museum & Library 7370 Central Ave.; 215-685-0544. ryerssmuseum.org. Asian art & artifacts as well as generations of family heirlooms & paintings. Donations accepted. Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Penn Museum (University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology) 3260 South St.; 215-898-4000. www.penn.museum. Imagine Africa With the Penn Museum. Maya 2012: Lords of Time Preview. 4/24. 11:30-2 pm. Donation suggested: $10; $7 seniors; $6 students & children 6-17; free for children under 6. Tue., Thur.-Sun. 10 am-5 pm; Wed. 10 am-8 pm.

Wagner Free Institute of Science 1700 W. Montgomery Ave.; 215-763-6529. www.wagnerfreeinstitute.org. Founded 1855. Houses Wagner's natural history collection. Donation suggested: $8; Guided tours: $15; $10 seniors; $5 children. Office: Mon.-Fri. 9 am-5 pm.

Woodford Mansion 33rd & Dauphin St.; 215-229-6115. www.woodfordmansion.org. Elegant 18th century summer house furnished with an exquisite collection of period antiques. $5; $3 seniors; $2 children 6-12. .

The Woodlands 4000 Woodland Ave.; 215-386-2181. www.woodlandsphila.org. National Historic Landmark District featuring the William Hamilton mansion & carriage house of 1789 & the continuously active Woodlands Cemetery founded on the remains of Hamilton's estate in 1840. .

Pennsylvania suburbs

American Helicopter Museum & Education Center

1220 American Blvd., West Chester; 610-436-9600.

» READ MORE: www.helicoptermuseum.org

. $10; $8 students; $7 groups; free for children under 2. Wed.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Beth Sholom Synagogue 8231 Old York Rd., Jenkintown; 215-887-1342. www.bethsholompreservation.org. Sun. 10 am-4 pm; Wed.-Thu. 10 am-2 pm.

Brandywine Battlefield Historic Site Route 1, Chadds Ford; 610-459-3342. www.brandywinebattlefield.org. 52 acres of woodlands, meadows, Washington's headquarters, artifacts, weapons, uniforms. House tours: $5; $3.50 seniors; $2.50 children 6-17; free for children under 6. Park free. Tue.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm.

Brandywine River Museum Rte. 1 & Rte. 100, Chadds Ford; 610-388-2700. www.brandywinemuseum.org. $12; $6 seniors, students & children 6-12; free for children under 6 & for all Sun. until noon. Daily 9:30 am-4:30 pm.

Chadds Ford Historical Society 1736 Creek Rd., Chadds Ford; 610-388-7376. www.chaddsfordhistory.org. $5 for 2 houses; $3 students 12-17; free for children 12 and under. .

Chester County Historical Society 225 N. High St., West Chester; 610-692-4800. www.cchs-pa.org/. $5; $4 seniors & students; $2.50 children; free for children under 6. Wed.-Sat. 9:30-4:30.

Elmwood Park Zoo 1661 Harding Blvd., Norristown; 610-277-3825. www.elmwoodparkzoo.org. The Norristown Zoological Society operates the Zoo, an educational adventure in a fun, clean & family-oriented environment. $9; $6 children 2-12 and seniors; free for children under 2. Mar.-Nov.: daily 10 am-4 pm. Dec.-Feb.: Fri.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm.

Fonthill Museum E. Court St., Doylestown; 215-348-9461. www.fonthillmuseum.org. $12; $10 seniors 65 & over; $5 children 6-17; free for children 5 and under. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm, Sun. noon-5 pm. Reservations recommended.

Hopewell Furnace 2 Mark Bird Ln., Elverson; 610-582-8773. www.nps.gov/hofu. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

Longwood Gardens Rte. 1, Kennett Square; 610-388-1000. www.longwoodgardens.org. $16; $14 seniors (ages 62 & over); $6 students (5-22); free for children 4 & under. Daily 9 am-5 pm.

The Mercer Museum 84 S. Pine St., Doylestown; 215-345-0210. www.mercermuseum.org. $10; $9 seniors 65 & over; $5 children 6-17; free for children 5 and under. Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-5 pm.

Pearl S. Buck International (Pearl S. Buck House) 520 Dublin Rd., Perkasie; 215-249-0100. www.psbi.org. $7; $6 seniors; free for children under 6. Tue.-Sat. at 11 am, 1 & 2 pm; Sun. at 1 & 2 pm.

Pennsbury Manor 400 Pennsbury Memorial Rd., Morrisville; 215-946-0400. www.pennsburymanor.org. Recreated country home of William Penn. $7; $6 seniors; $4 children 3-11. April- November: Tue.-Sat. 9 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-5 pm.

Pennypacker Mills 5 Haldeman Rd., Schwenksville; 610-287-9349. historicsites.montcopa.org/pennypackermills. Turn-of-the-century mansion & farm of PA's 25th Governor Samuel W. Pennypacker (1903-1907). Free. Tue.-Sat. 10 am-4 pm; Sun. 1-4 pm.