Cathy Rush, a pioneer in women's basketball who won three consecutive AIAW national championships with Immaculata University from 1972 to '74, will be named as one of the enshrinees to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today in San Antonio.

A source familiar with the situation told the Daily News that Rush was informed last Wednesday. She is in San Antonio with at least two members of her family.

This was the sixth time Rush was a Hall of Fame finalist.

She was 149-15 in seven seasons coaching the Mighty Macs and took them to six straight AIAW Final Four appearances. She was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2000.

Rush was the only finalist submitted this year by the women's screening committee.

Rush and the Mighty Macs are profiled in an upcoming movie, "Our Lady of Victory."

Among the other finalists for election to the Hall are Hakeem Olajuwon, Patrick Ewing, Pat Riley, Adrian Dantley, Dennis Johnson, Chris Mullin, Don Nelson and sportscaster Dick Vitale.

The class of 2008 will be enshrined Sept. 4-6 in Springfield, Mass. *

- Phil Jasner