DETROIT - Jordan Leopold scored on a penalty shot and added an assist, and Andrew Raycroft made 34 saves as Colorado outlasted Detroit.

Wojtek Wolski and Paul Stastny also scored for the Avalanche.

Tomas Holmstrom and Marian Hossa scored for Detroit; Chris Osgood stopped 24 shots.

Leopold scored on a penalty shot 1 minute, 51 seconds into the third for his fifth goal.

He put a backhander over Osgood's shoulder after the Red Wings' Brett Lebda was called for covering the puck in the crease.

Colorado jumped out in front 67 seconds into the contest when Wolski broke in alone and beat Osgood. The Avalanche doubled their advantage at the 4:34 mark of the first when Stastny scored on the power play.

Holmstrom cut the Avalanche's lead to 2-1 at 9:10 of the second period. With a delayed penalty being called on Colorado, Holmstrom scored on a goal-mouth scramble for his ninth goal.

Hossa brought the Red Wings to within a goal 7:07 into the third period when he scored from the left circle off a face-off won by Henrik Zetterberg. It was Hossa's 16th goal.

Colorado 2 0 1 – 3

Detroit 0 1 1 – 2

First period: 1, Colorado, Wolski 7 (Arnason), 1:07. 2, Colorado, Stastny 7 (Hejduk, Leopold), 4:34 (pp). Penalties: Holmstrom, Det (hooking), 3:49; Salei, Col (high-sticking), 6:31; Clark, Col (hooking), 7:25; Draper, Det (holding stick), 10:44; Rafalski, Det (holding), 16:02.

Second period: 3, Detroit, Holmstrom 9 (Rafalski, Datsyuk), 9:10. Penalties: Lidstrom, Det (interference), :27; Hensick, Col (holding stick), 1:17; McCormick, Col (roughing), 6:42; McLeod, Col (roughing), 6:42; Kopecky, Det (roughing), 6:42.

Third period: 4, Colorado, Leopold 5 (penalty shot), 1:51. 5, Detroit, Hossa 16 (Zetterberg), 7:07. Penalties: Leopold, Col (interference), 10:45.

Shots on goal: Colorado 9-8-10–27. Detroit 7-14-15–36.

Power-play opportunities: Colorado 1 of 4; Detroit 0 of 5.

Goalies: Colorado, Raycroft 4-1-0 (36 shots-34 saves). Detroit, Osgood 12-2-4 (27-24).

A: 19,154 (20,066). T: 2:22.

Referees: Steve Kozari, Brad Meier. Linesmen: Pierre Champoux, Ryan Galloway.