Washington Capitals winger Alex Ovechkin received the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player for the second consecutive year at the NHL Awards Show last night in Las Vegas.

Voting was by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Ovechkin also walked off with the NHL Players' Association's Lester B. Pearson Award, given to the most outstanding player in voting by fellow players.

Ovechkin, who led the league with 56 goals, beat fellow Russian finalists Evgeni Malkin of Pittsburgh and Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk.

The Bruins' Tim Thomas, who had a 2.10 goals-against average, won the Vezina Trophy as the top goalie. Boston's 6-foot-9 Zdeno Chara earned the Norris Trophy as the top defenseman.

Columbus goalie Steve Mason won the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year. He led the NHL with 10 shutouts.

Malkin won the Art Ross Trophy as the highest scorer. Datsyuk repeated as the Selke Trophy winner as top defensive forward. Datsyuk edged the Flyers' Mike Richards, 945-942, in points, but Richards had more first-place votes.

Datsyuk also won the Lady Byng Trophy as hockey's most gentlemanly player for the fourth straight year.

Claude Julien of the Boston Bruins was the coach of the year in voting by the NHL Broadcasters' Association.

Steve Sullivan won the NHL's Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. He missed nearly two years because of a back injury.

Lafleur trial. Hockey Hall of Famer Guy Lafleur received a one-year suspended sentence in Montreal, was fined $100, and ordered to donate $10,000 to charity for giving contradictory testimony during his son's 2007 bail hearing.

Mark Lafleur, 23, pleaded guilty last year to 23 drug, driving and assault counts, including 13 involving his ex-girlfriend.