Phillies manager Charlie Manuel finished sixth in the voting for National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Manuel received two second-place votes and four third-place votes.

The ballots were submitted before the postseason.

Colorado's Jim Tracy won the award.

Tracy became the second manager to win the award after taking over during the season, joining Jack McKeon for Florida in 2003. Less than an hour after the award was announced, the Rockies said Tracy had been rewarded with a three-year contract.

"What we're talking about this afternoon, it's probably as flattering an experience as I've come to realize during the course of my professional career in athletics," Tracy said. "And obviously a new contract is extremely exciting. But what is more intriguing for me is what is still out there for our ballclub."

He received 29 first-place votes and two seconds for 151 points.

Tony La Russa, of the Cardinals, finished second with 55 points and appears on two first-place ballots.

The Dodgers' Joe Torre was third with 33 points and one first-place votes. San Francisco's Bruce Bochy (18 points) and Atlanta's Bobby Cox (15) rounded out the Top 5.

Los Angeles Angels manager Mike Scioscia won the AL honor with 106 points and 15 first-place votes.

Ron Gardenhire finished second (72, 6)in the AL voting for the second straight year and fifth time during his eight seasons as Minnesota manager. The Yankees' Joe Girardi was third (34, 4).