With three of the league's football-playing schools set to close in June, Catholic League athletic directors on Thursday approved a proposal by football coaches to divide the league into two divisions.

As it previously did, the five-team Red Division (Class AAAA) will include Archbishop Ryan, Father Judge, La Salle, Roman Catholic, and St. Joseph's Prep.

The six-team Blue Division, a mix of Class AAA and AA schools, will consist of Archbishop Carroll (Class AA), Archbishop Wood (AAA), Bishop McDevitt (AA), Cardinal O'Hara (AAA), Lansdale Catholic (AAA), and Neumann-Goretti (AA).

In 2012-13, based on enrollment numbers submitted by District 12 schools to the PIAA, Lansdale Catholic will move up from Class AA to AAA, and Archbishop Carroll will drop from AAA to AA.

The Catholic League will have a nine-week regular season. Playoffs will begin in Week 10.

The Red Division will continue to have a four-team playoff tournament. No champion will be crowned from the Blue.

The top two Class AA finishers will square off in Week 10 for the right to play in a District 1-12 subregional playoff. The three Class AAA teams will have their own tourney, with the No. 1 seed receiving a bye and No. 2 facing No. 3 in Week 10. In Week 11, the No. 2-vs.-No. 3 survivor will play the top seed.

In Week 7 next season, 10 of the 11 schools will play mandatory crossover games, with Neumann-Goretti being the exception. The Saints will have either a bye or a nonleague game that week.

The five crossover games will be Wood vs. La Salle, O'Hara vs. St. Joe's Prep, Lansdale Catholic vs. Judge, McDevitt vs. Roman, and Carroll vs. Ryan.

Catholic League football membership is dropping from 14 to 11 schools. It was announced last week that Conwell-Egan, Monsignor Bonner, and West Catholic would close their doors in June.