The Heart of Learning Award finalists have been announced, as again Citadel and the Chester County Intermediate Unit have collaborated to honor the best teachers in the county.

Fifteen teachers - one from each of the 13 public school districts that are situated mostly in Chester County, one teacher from a non-public school, and one teacher from the CCIU - have been picked by a selection committee as finalists from more than 2,800 nominations submitted by parents, students, and school administrators.

All finalists will receive $500 each for use in their classrooms and a glass sculpture from Simon Pearce. The three Heart of Learning Award winners - one high school, one middle school, and one elementary school teacher - will be announced on May 6 at a banquet at The Desmond Hotel in Malvern. The three winners will get an additional $1,000 for use in their classrooms, as well as larger Simon Pearce sculptures.

The finalists are:

· Eric Schott - Avon Grove High School in the Avon Grove School District

· Carl Smith - Coatesville Area Senior High in the Coatesville Area School District

· Regenia McAden - Lionville Elementary School in the Downingtown Area School District

· Leonard Levi - Great Valley Middle School in the Great Valley School District

· Carole Koroluck - Kennett Middle School in the Kennett Consolidated School District

· Mary Kay McCann - Octorara Elementary School in the Octorara Area School District

·Krista Venza - Owen J. Roberts Middle School in the Owen J. Roberts School District

·Stephanie Jones Vasquez - Oxford High School in the Oxford Area School District

·Patricia McGarry - Barkley Elementary School in the Phoenixville Area School District

·Cathy Bond - Conestoga High School in the Tredyffrin/Easttown School District

·Astrida Lizins - Twin Valley Middle School in the Twin Valley School District

·Donna Hayden - Chadds Ford Elementary School in the Unionville-Chadds Ford School District

·Rene Rodriguez - Westtown-Thornbury Elementary School in the West Chester Area School District

·Dr. Megan Lynott - Center for Arts and Technology - Brandywine Campus in the Chester County Intermediate Unit

·Erin Keefe - Pennsylvania Leadership Charter School in the Non-Public Schools Division

For more information on the awards visit

   Will Hobson