ANAHEIM, Calif. - Paul Holmgren, who has spent 36 seasons in the Flyers organization and is in his first year as club president, and NHL deputy commissioner Bill Daly were honored Thursday as co-winners of the Lester Patrick Trophy for their outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The event took place as part of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Minneapolis, near where Holmgren grew up.

Holmgren, 59, a former Flyers player, coach, and general manager, has been involved in furthering the sport in various roles for USA Hockey. He has served on the U.S. men's national team advisory group since 2009, and was the assistant general manager of the 2006 U.S. Olympic men's team. In addition, he served as GM of the 2006 U.S. men's national team and was an assistant coach for Team USA at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games and the 1996 World Cup of Hockey.

The award honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach, and general manager and was a pioneer in the sport's development.

- Sam Carchidi