Tim McAneney began the football season in sartorial salute to his late father, legendary former coach Vince McAneney.

McAneney ended it Monday night by taking his place alongside his father as one of the winners of the Brooks-Irvine Memorial Football Club's prestigious coach of the year award.

The award, which was not announced before the annual dinner that serves as the traditional wrapup of the South Jersey football season, was extra special for McAneney because it was another link to his father, who died in January at 86.

Vince McAneney won 244 games in a coaching career that included stops at West Catholic, Cherry Hill West, and Pennsauken.

Vince McAneney was the Brooks-Irvine club's coach of the year in 1984.

Vince McAneney's last championship team at Pennsauken was 11-0 in 1986 - exactly 30 years before Tim McAneney's team compiled an 11-0 record before losing to Timber Creek in the South Jersey Group 4 title game Dec. 4 at Rowan University.

In the first game of the season on Sept. 9, Tim McAneney wore gray dress pants, a blue shirt and tie and his father's maroon sports jacket - "cigarette burns and all," McAneney said - in tribute during a 27-0 victory over Trenton.

Vince McAneney wore a similar outfit while coaching most of his games later in his career.

Tim McAneney has turned Lenape into a South Jersey power in his six seasons.

Lenape has a 28-5 record with three straight West Jersey Football League division titles in the last three years. The Indians made the sectional final for the first time in program history this season.

McAneney has a 92-74 overall record in 16 seasons as a head coach. He was 44-48 in nine seasons at Bishop Eustace Prep, his alma mater and also was 8-3 and won a state championship in his one season at Holy Cross Academy in 2008.

The all-South Jersey football team also was honored at Monday night's banquet.

The club honored Lenape defensive back Mike Doulong, Shawnee offensive back Dan Wigley, Washington Township defensive lineman Dave Grosmick, and Mainland offensive lineman Matt Epstein with scholar-athlete awards.

Haddonfield senior tight end/defensive end Jason Garstkiewicz, who played his career with a prosthetic leg, won the Brooks-Irvine memorial scholarship.

West Deptford senior Gio Gismondi, a fullback/linebacker who helped the Eagles to a 12-0 record and the South Jersey Group 2 title, won the Edward J. Miersch award.

Kingsway High School won the Fulton Sportsmanship award.

Penn State's Brandon Bell, an Oakcrest graduate, was honored as college player of the year for NCAA Division I at the Football Bowl Subdivision level.

Bucknell's Julien Davenport, a Paulsboro graduate, and Maine's Dan Collins, a Williamstown graduate, were honored as college players of the year for NCAA Division I at the Football Championship Subdivision level.

West Chester's Doug Gilbert, a Lenape graduate, was honored as college player of the year at the NCAA Division II level.

Wesley's Bryce Shade, a Timber Creek graduate, was honored as college player of the year at the NCAA Division III level.

Bill Wagner, Penn's longtime sprint team coach, was presented with the Edward G. Myer Distinguished Service award.