Staked to an early three-run lead, Samantha Lemm turned in a solid pitching performance that enabled Eastern to oust East Brunswick, 7-1, on Tuesday in a NJSIAA State Group 4 softball semifinal played at New Egypt.

Eastern advances to its first state title game since 1986, with the Vikings set to take on Morris Knolls on Saturday in Toms River.

Lemm struck out six, scattered five hits and two walks, and allowed a single run in the fourth inning.

"Sam did a good job keeping East Brunswick off the bases," Eastern coach Jamie McGroarty said. "We were able to jump out to an early lead and that took a little pressure off."

The Vikings' nine-hit attack featured a two-run double by Steph Vuono, two RBIs by Lemm and one RBI from Madison Tiernan.

NJSIAA State Group 3. Senior Jess Zeilman picked up her 100th career hit on a single in the seventh inning, providing a highlight for Delsea in its 10-2 loss to Middletown South in a semifinal held at Lenape.

The Crusaders, who won their second consecutive South Jersey championship last week, finished their season with an 18-6 record.


The foursome of Matt Mendall, Kevin Sarlo, Brandon Roche and T.J. Maderia carried Burlington Township to an eight-stroke victory in the Burlington County League championship at Hanover Golf Club.

Macklin McKinstrie of Moorestown was the individual winner, carding a five-over-par 76, to edge out runner-up Mendall (79).


Reliever Evan Emerich came on to strike out the final batter, ending Highland's first-and-third, two-out threat in the top of seventh inning, and preserving host Clearview's 4-3 victory.

Junior righthander George Eisenhart picked up the win in the Tri-County Conference game to raise his record to 7-2. Junior Brett Solomen's fifth home run of the season - a solo shot in the third - gave the Pioneers a 4-0 lead.

State Softball Champions

Group 1

2009: Gloucester

2008: Pennsville

2007: Florence

2006: New Egypt

2005: Gloucester

2004: Middlesex

2003: Roselle Park

Group 2

2009: Pequannock

2008: Sterling

2007: Governor Livingston

2006: Allentown

2005: Caldwell

2004: Jefferson

2003: Manchester Township

Group 3

2009: Middletown South

2008: Kingsway

2007: Wall Township

2006: Ramapo

2005: South Plainfield

2004: Montgomery

2003: Jefferson

Group 4

2009: Williamstown

2008: Williamstown

2007: Clifton

2006: North Hunterdon

2005: Rancocas Valley

2004: Steinert

2003: Cherokee

Non-Public A

2009: Immaculate Heart

2008: Red Bank Catholic

2007: Notre Dame

2006: Notre Dame

2005: Red Bank Catholic

2004: St. John Vianney

2003: Immaculate Heart

Non-Public B

2009: Montclair-Kimberley

2008: Mater Dei

2007: Montclair-Kimberley

2006: Montclair-Kimberley

2005: Montclair-Kimberley

2004: Montclair-Kimberley

2003: Gloucester Catholic