Skip to content
Our Archives
Link copied to clipboard

McCarron wins Maxwell Award

Pittsburgh's Donald wins Bednarik Award

ALABAMA quarterback AJ McCarron won the Maxwell Award, given to college football's player of the year. McCarron was presented with the award yesterday during the 23rd College Football Awards Show at Disney.

The fifth-year senior led Alabama to an 11-1 season that left the Crimson Tide just short of a chance to play for its third straight national championship. He threw for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns with five interceptions.

McCarron also is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be handed out tomorrow night. He won the Maxwell Award over Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, both Heisman finalists as well.

In other accolades, Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the defensive player of the year. He also won the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's top interior lineman. It capped a big week for Donald, who took home the Bronko Nagurski award this week as the best defensive player in the country, and the Lombardi Award given annually to the nation's top college lineman.


* Texas coach Mack Brown declined to say whether the Alamo Bowl will be his final game, amid intense speculation following another disappointing season for the Longhorns.

"My situation has not changed," Brown said.

Speaking to reporters for the first time since multiple published reports this week indicated that he might step down, Brown said he has yet to talk with new Texas athletic director Steve Patterson and university President Bill Powers about the job he has held since 1998.