Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's outstanding player Thursday night during the 24th College Football Awards Show at Disney in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. It was his third major award of the night. He also received the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award. He was also selected as the Walter Camp player of the year in a separate announcement.

Other winners:

Wisconsin junior Melvin Gordon won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back. Gordon said Wednesday he will skip his senior season to enter the NFL draft.

Alabama's Amari Cooper won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's outstanding receiver.

Maryland's Brad Craddock won the Lou Groza Award as the top kicker.

Louisville's Gerod Holliman won the Jim Thorpe Award as top defensive back.

Iowa's Brandon Scherff won the Outland Trophy, given to the outstanding interior lineman.

Utah's Tom Hackett won the Ray Guy Award, given to the top punter.


Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez will coach the Badgers in the Outback Bowl against Auburn on Jan. 1. Alvarez is replacing Gary Andersen, who accepted the job as Oregon State coach. ... Penn State's Mike Hull, who won the Big Ten Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year award, was named a second-team all-American by USA Today. ... Penn State freshman quarterback Michael O'Connor plans to transfer.