Cooper Rush's two-point conversion attempt fell incomplete as time expired, and Western Kentucky held on to defeat Central Michigan, 49-48, in a wild inaugural Bahamas Bowl on Wednesday.

Central Michigan trailed by 49-14 entering the fourth quarter before Rush engineered a comeback. He threw four touchdown passes in the final minutes, and the Chippewas got the ball back at their own 25 with one second remaining.

Rush completed a pass to Jesse Kroll, and the ball was lateraled three times before Titus Davis dove into the pylon for a touchdown with no time remaining.

Central Michigan elected to go for two and the win, only to have the pass drop incomplete.

TCU coach honored

TCU's Gary Patterson is the Associated Press college football coach of the year.

Patterson is just the second two-time winner of the AP coach of the year, joining Nick Saban (2003 with LSU and 2008 with Alabama). The AP coach of the year has been awarded since 1998. Patterson, in his 14th season at TCU, was coach of the year in 2009.

Patterson received 27 of 54 votes from the AP poll media panel. Urban Meyer of Ohio State was the runner-up with 14 votes.

Patterson guided the sixth-ranked Horned Frogs to an 11-1 record and a share of the Big 12 title after going 4-8 in 2013.