Four seniors -- linebackers Cam Brown and Jan Johnson, safety Garrett Taylor and punter Blake Gillikin -- are among eight players who have been voted as captains for the 2019 Penn State football season, head coach James Franklin announced Saturday.

Redshirt sophomore quarterback Sean Clifford, who was named by Franklin as the Nittany Lions’ starting quarterback on Friday, also was voted as a captain as were redshirt junior center Michal Menet, redshirt sophomore safety Jonathan Sutherland and sophomore tight end Pat Freiermuth.

Gillikin, who enters the season No. 1 on the Penn State all-time career punting list with a 43.3-yard average, will be a captain for the second straight season.