Temple’s season opener against Bucknell on Aug. 31 will have a 3 p.m. kickoff, the AAC announced Thursday.

Start times for the first three weeks of the season, and also some prime-time games, have been released. Due to television coverage, many start times aren’t announced this far in advance.

The opener against Bucknell at Lincoln Financial Field will be carried by ESPN3.

The Owls, who have a bye in Week 2, will host Maryland on Sept. 14 with a scheduled noon start.

The other two Temple start times announced both are for Thursday night ESPN games starting at 8 p.m. Temple will visit East Carolina on Oct. 3 and will travel to South Florida on Nov. 7.

The Owls, guided by Geoff Collins, went 8-5 in 2018. Collins then departed for Georgia Tech. The Owls hired former Miami defensive coordinator Manny Diaz, who held the job for only three weeks in December before he returned to Miami to take over for Mark Richt, who abruptly retired. Interim Ed Foley coached the Owls in their season-ending Independence Bowl loss to Duke.

In mid-January, Rod Carey was announced as the new head coach.

2019 Temple schedule

Sat. Aug. 31 Bucknell, 3 (ESPN3)

Sat. Sept. 14 Maryland, noon (CBS Sports Network)

Sat. Sept. 21 at Buffalo

Sat. Sept. 28 Georgia Tech

Thurs. Oct. 3 at ECU, 8 p.m. (ESPN)

Sat. Oct. 12 Memphis

Sat. Oct. 19 at SMU

Sat. Oct. 26 Central Florida

Thurs. Nov. 7 at South Florida, 8 p.m. (ESPN)

Sat. Nov. 16 Tulane

Sat. Nov. 23 at Cincinnati

Sat. Nov. 30 UCONN