Temple will begin its American Athletic Conference football schedule at Navy on Sept. 26 after playing three nonconference games. The Owls will open their 2020 season Sept. 5 at Miami, Fla.

On Tuesday, the AAC released its football schedule. Temple’s AAC opponents were previously announced, but the dates were announced Tuesday. The non-conference games were also released earlier. The game times will be released later.

With the departure of UConn in June, the AAC will go from two football divisions of six teams to one 11-team conference.

In the past, the division winners played for the AAC championship. Now, it will be the top two teams in the conference.

The Owls will end their 12-game regular-season schedule by hosting Cincinnati.

Temple will continue to play its home games at Lincoln Financial Field. Last week, Temple and the Eagles agreed to a five-year extension plus a five-year option for the Owls.

Entering their second season under coach Rod Carey, the Owls are coming off an 8-5 record and finished third in the AAC East Division with a 5-3 conference mark, behind Cincinnati (7-1) and UCF (6-2).

Eleven of the 12 games are scheduled for Saturdays. The remaining game, against SMU, will be either Thursday night or Saturday, Nov. 5 or 7. The AAC championship game will be Dec. 5.

Temple’s 2019 season ended with a 55-13 loss to North Carolina in the Military Bowl.

2020 schedule

Sept. 5 at Miami (Fla.)

Sept. 12 Idaho

Sept. 19 Rutgers

Sept. 26 at Navy

Oct. 3 BYE

Oct. 10 at UMass

Oct. 17 USF

Oct. 24 at Memphis

Oct. 31 at Tulane

Nov. 5 or 7 SMU

Nov. 14 at UCF

Nov. 21 ECU

Nov. 28 Cincinnati