High-profile non-conference games against Ohio State, Kansas and Connecticut and an appearance in the Myrtle Beach Invitational are among the highlights of Villanova’s 2019-20 men’s basketball schedule that was announced Thursday.

The Wildcats, who finished with a 26-10 record last season and earned their seventh consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, open their season -- the 19th for Jay Wright as head coach -- on Nov. 5 against Army at Finneran Pavilion.

Villanova will travel to Ohio State for a matchup in the Gavitt Games on Nov. 13. Kansas will visit the Wells Fargo Center to take on the Wildcats on Dec. 21, and UConn comes to the same venue for a Jan. 18 contest.

The Wildcats begin competition in the Myrtle Beach Invitational on Nov. 21 against Middle Tennessee and play two more games after that. Mississippi State, Utah and Baylor are among those in the tournament field.

Villanova's Collin Gillespie (left) and Quentin Goodin of Xavier go after a loose ball in January 2019.
CHARLES FOX / Staff Photographer
Villanova's Collin Gillespie (left) and Quentin Goodin of Xavier go after a loose ball in January 2019.

The schedule also includes a Big Five week during which the Wildcats will play home games against La Salle on Dec. 1 and Penn on Dec. 4 before heading to Hawk Hill for a Dec. 7 matchup with St. Joseph’s. They will meet Delaware on Dec. 14 at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J., in the Never Forget Classic.

The Cats begin Big East Conference play on Dec. 30 against Xavier at Finneran Pavilion, followed by a road trip to Marquette on Jan. 4. Georgetown comes to the Wells Fargo Center on Jan. 11, beginning a stretch of four straight home games. In all, Nova will host eight games at Finneran Pavilion and seven at Wells Fargo Center.

Villanova plays five of its last seven games on the road, including its Big 5 finale against Temple on Feb. 16. The Cats close their regular season at Seton Hall and at Georgetown.

2019-20 Villanova Men’s Basketball Schedule

Thursday, Oct. 10 BLUE/WHITE SCRIMMAGE 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 18 at USC (exhibition) 10:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 5 ARMY (FP) 8:30 p.m./FS1

Wednesday, Nov. 13 at Ohio State (GG) 7 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Nov. 16 OHIO UNIVERSITY (WCF) Noon/FS2

Thursday, Nov. 21 Middle Tennessee State ^ 11:30 a.m./ESPN2 or ESPN

Friday, Nov. 22 Mississippi St./Tulane ^ Noon/2:30 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 24 Myrtle Beach Invitational ^ TBD/ESPN Networks

Sunday, Dec. 1 LA SALLE (FP) B5 6:30 p.m./FS1

Wednesday, Dec. 4 PENN (FP) B5 6:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Dec. 7 at Saint Joseph’s B5 3 p.m./ESPN2

Saturday, Dec. 14 vs. Delaware (NFT) 2 p.m./TBA

Saturday, Dec. 21 KANSAS (WFC) Noon/Fox

Monday, Dec. 30 XAVIER* (FP) 6:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Jan. 4 at Marquette* 2 p.m./Fox or FS1

Tuesday, Jan. 7 at Creighton* 9 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Jan. 11 GEORGETOWN* (WFC) Noon/FS1

Tuesday, Jan. 14 DEPAUL* (FP) 8:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Jan. 18 CONNECTICUT (WFC) Noon/FS1

Tuesday, Jan. 21 BUTLER* (FP) 7 p.m./CBS SN

Saturday, Jan. 25 at Providence* 1 p.m./CBS

Tuesday, Jan. 28 at St. John’s* 6:30 or 7 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Feb. 1 CREIGHTON * (WFC) Noon/FS1

Wednesday, Feb. 5 at Butler* 6:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Feb. 8 SETON HALL* (WFC) 2:30 p.m./Fox

Wednesday, Feb. 12 MARQUETTE* (FP) 8:30 p.m./FS1

Sunday, Feb. 16 at Temple TBA

Wednesday, Feb. 19 at DePaul* 9 p.m./CBS SN

Saturday, Feb. 22 at Xavier* 2:30 p.m./Fox

Wednesday, Feb. 26 ST. JOHN’S* (FP) 6:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, Feb. 29 PROVIDENCE* (WFC) Noon/Fox

Wednesday, Mar. 4 at Seton Hall* 8:30 p.m./FS1

Saturday, March 7 at Georgetown* Noon/Fox

Mar. 11-14 BIG EAST Tournament TBA

FP - Finneran Pavilion, Villanova, Pa.

WFC – Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pa.

* Denotes BIG EAST Conference game

B5 – Philadelphia Big Five game

GG – Gavitt Games, Columbus, Ohio

^ - Myrtle Beach Invitational, Myrtle Beach, S.C.

NFT – Never Forget Tribute Classic, Newark, N.J.