Lenape beat Freehold Township, 8-5, in the South Group 4 boys’ lacrosse quarterfinals on Saturday. Matt Soutar scored a goal and won 15 of the 17 faceoffs he took. Mason Bregman scored a team-high three goals. Bryce Reece had two goals and five ground balls. No. 2 Lenape will face No. 3 Cherokee in the semifinals on Wednesday.

Cherokee beat Howell, 15-1, behind five goals from Gaurav Dravida. Jordan Hayes had a goal and three assists. Ten players scored for Cherokee. Dravida and Colin Wagner were the lone players with multi-goal games.


Haddonfield beat Bernards, 16-12, in the South Group 1 quarterfinals. Drew Ragone led the Bulldogs with five goals. Aiden Blake had four goals and three assists. Max Norton had two goals and two assists. Haddonfield will travel to No. 2 Glen Ridge for Wednesday’s semifinal.


Haddonfield beat West Deptford, 5-4, by scoring two runs in the bottom of the seventh inning. Chris Brown had a triple and an RBI in Haddonfield’s Colonial Conference Liberty Division victory. Losing pitcher Ryan Sawyer had a homer for the Eagles, and Ian Murphy had two RBIs.


Timber Creek beat Cherokee, 5-3, in an Olympic Conference matchup. Tyler Napoli had three RBIs for Timber Creek. Christian Fryar had a double and an RBI for the Chargers.


Rob Ready went 2-for-4 with two doubles and two RBIs and earned the win as St. Augustine beat King’s Christian, 7-2. Anthony Sofran threw three scoreless innings in relief and hit a double. Cole Vanderslice went 2-for-2 with two RBIs for the Hermits.


Toms River South beat Egg Harbor Township, 3-2, by scoring in the bottom of the seventh inning. Colin Mackle had an RBI for Toms River South. Anthony Feinstein and Garrett Smith each had an RBI for the Eagles.


Joseph Barron struck out eight in his complete-game win as Clayton beat LEAP Academy, 3-1. John Dantinne had a two-run single for the Clippers.

Boys’ Track and Field

Riverside won the Burlington County League Freedom Division championship during the Burlington County Divisional meet at Northern Burlington. The Rams scored 136 points to beat second-place Burlington City’s 111. Riverside’s Caleb Esposito won the pole vault.

Khy’Jaron Moore won the triple jump, and his teammate Alex Stockton placed second. Stockton won the javelin with a 163-foot, five-inch throw. Anthony Moyer won the discus.


Rancocas Valley won the Liberty Division title with 191 points, 87 more than second-place Burlington Township. Micah Wood won the 400-meter hurdles in 56.77 seconds. Wood also won the triple jump.

The Red Devils took the top three spots in the long jump and javelin. Tai Matlock won the long jump with a 20-foot, 11 1/2-inch leap. McQuain Hood won the javelin with a 164-foot, five-inch throw.


Cinnaminson won the Patriot Division championship with 158 points. The Pirates took the top three spots in the 400. John Meekins won the race in 50.79 seconds. Austin Gabay won the 800 in 1:56.64 seconds, finishing about six seconds ahead of his teammate Gabe Saint Elien. Gabay broke the Patriot Division record of 1:57.30 set by Holy Cross’ Mike Sheehan in 2007. He also ran the fastest 800 at the meet since Ian Waterhouse’s 1:55.59 in the 2004 Liberty Division race for Rancocas Valley.

Gabay and Saint Elien book-ended Cinnaminson’s winning 4-x-400 relay team. John Meekins and Chad Howard ran the middle two legs. Corey Harrell won the 110 hurdles in 15.39 seconds.

Girls’ Track and Field

New Egypt won the Burlington County’s Freedom Division championship with 141 points, beating second-place Florence by 12 points. Seleste Leal won the 200 and the 400 for the Warriors.

Lauryn Laning won the 1,600 and the 3,200. Laning ran the 3,200 in 13:42.44, about 50 seconds faster than the second-place runner.


Rancocas Valley won the Liberty Division championship with 226 points, with the next-closest team earning 76. Sheriyah Nutt won the 100 in 12.37 seconds, and Rancocas Valley’s Darynn Minus-Vincent placed second in 12.5 seconds. Minus-Vincent won the 200 in 25.3 seconds.

Alyssa Leak won the 800 in 2:23.69, about 10 seconds faster than the second-place runner. Nutt, Leak, Brianna Snowden and Kharonay Brown won the 4-x-400 in 4:04.37.

Bethany Biggi won the 1,600, with her teammate Paige Hammond placing second. Kristina Tossas won the long jump and the triple jump.


Cinnaminson won the Patriot Division with 167 points, beating Delran by five. Shelby Sills won the 100, 200 and high jump for the Pirates.

Meredith Updike won the 100 hurdles and 400 hurdles and ran the third leg on Cinnaminson’s winning 4-x-400 team. She also won the long jump by leaping 16 feet, 1/4 inches. Brooke Painter won the pole vault by clearing nine feet. Brooke Adams won the 3,200, and Elena Keck won the shot put.