Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Catholic League to realign in football

Catholic League athletic directors passed a proposal for football realigment by a 10-3 vote in a meeting Thursday morning at Archbishop Carroll.

The move came after the PIAA voted in October to expand football
and other sports to six classifications.

The Catholic League will split into two seven-team divisions, based on classification, beginning next year.

There will be regular-season champions in each division, with no crossover game to decide an overall titlist. Teams will move on to playoffs in their respective classifications.

Here is the breakdown, with the school's new classification in parentheses:


La Salle (6A)

Roman Catholic (6A)

St. Joseph's Prep (6A)

Father Judge (6A)

Archbishop Ryan (5A)

Archbishop Carroll (5A)

Archbishop Wood (5A)


Bonner-Prendergast (4A)

Cardinal O'Hara (4A)

Lansdale Catholic (3A)

Conwell-Egan (3A)

Bishop McDevitt (2A)

West Catholic (2A)

Neumann-Goretti (2A)