Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Good Sportsmanship

I was impressed by Gloucester Catholic catcher Colleen O'Donnell, who faced reporters almost immediately after she was involved in a play that lost the sectional championship game for the Rams Tuesday.

An umpire said O'Donnell didn't have control of the ball when she tagged a Bishop Ahr runner at the plate. As a result, Ahr won, 2-1, in extra innings.

Fighting back tears, O'Donnell said that in her opinion she had the ball and made the tag but it's the umpire's opinion that counts.

Then she congratulated the winners.