Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

On the Boards

Penn Virginia Corp., a Radnor natural gas and oil company, has elected John U. Clarke to its board. Clarke is president of Concept Capital Group Inc. He had been president and chief executive officer of NATCO Group Inc., an oil-services company, until its sale to Cameron International Corp. in November.

Kathleen P.Chimicles
Kathleen P.ChimiclesRead more

Penn Virginia Corp.

, a Radnor natural gas and oil company, has elected

John U. Clarke

to its board. Clarke is president of Concept Capital Group Inc. He had been president and chief executive officer of NATCO Group Inc., an oil-services company, until its sale to Cameron International Corp. in November.

The Marian Anderson Award, an organization created to honor artist humanitarians and support the development of artists, has elected the following members to its board:

Barbara A. Potts is a partner in the real estate practice group of Blank Rome L.L.P., Philadelphia.

Jeffrey W. Gordon is manager of corporate relations for Peco Energy Co.

Melanie Johnson is Philadelphia's City Representative.

Nina C. Tinari is the director of government relations at S. R. Wojdak & Associates, Philadelphia.

Dyana Williams is an on-air personality/producer at 107.9 WRNB FM Radio One Philadelphia and CEO of Influence Entertainment.

The Earle Mack School of Law at Drexel University has appointed Kathleen P. Chimicles and Steven J. Rocci to its advisory board. Chimicles is president and CEO of GlenDevon Group Inc., Haverford. Rocci is a partner with Woodcock Washburn L.L.P., Philadelphia, and is chairman of the firm's Policy Committee.

Michael B. Schaedle has been elected vice president of the boards of trustees of KIPP Philadelphia Charter School and KIPP West Philadelphia Preparatory Charter School. He had been secretary to both boards. Schaedle is a partner in the Business Restructuring & Bankruptcy group at Blank Rome L.L.P., Philadelphia.

Walt Borginis, chief financial officer of the Visiting Nurse Association of Greater Philadelphia, has been elected to the board of the National Association for Home Care and Hospice, a Washington professional association.

Kelly Thornton was named to the Visiting Nurse Association of Greater Philadelphia's board of trustees. Thornton is a partner in the Philadelphia office of PricewaterhouseCoopers L.L.P.

The University City Arts League, a nonprofit West Philadelphia arts and education center, has elected Noreen Shanfelter its president. She was senior director, media and public relations, for the Girl Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania.

New board members are:

Vivian E. McCreary is senior sales associate Alpha Office Furniture Inc. and a lawyer and block captain in West Philadelphia.

Alan Massey is an architect with CIVITAS Architects, Philadelphia.

Dana Wormer is a founding partner in RedZebraWorks, Philadelphia.

Martha Ledger is a freelance writer, editor, and photographer.

The Curtis Institute of Music, a Philadelphia nonprofit organization, has named three members to its board of trustees:

Mark E. Rubenstein is the retired chairman of the Rubenstein Co. L.P.

Brett Rubinson is partner and portfolio manager at Veritable L.P., Newtown Square.

Mikael Eliasen is Hirsig Family Head-of-Department Chair in Vocal Studies and artistic director of the Curtis Opera Theatre, Philadelphia.

The board of overseers also added three members: Sarah Lutman is president and general manager of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, St. Paul, Minn.; Jesse Rosen is president and CEO of the League of American Orchestras; and William Stensrud is president and CEO of, a Web site that provides live classical music.

The Birth Center, a Bryn Mawr-based 30-year-old nonprofit that provides ob/gyn care by midwives and nurses, appointed Lisa Piraino to its board. She is associate director of major gifts at Haverford College.

The American Bus Association, a Washington trade organization, has appointed Alan Glickman chairman, ABA Strategic Safety Committee. Glickman is CEO of Starr Transit Co. Inc. (Starr Tours), Trenton.

Joseph F. DiMauro and Mary Dare have been elected to the board of trustees of The College Settlement Camp and the Henry J. and Willemina B. Kuhn Day Camp, Horsham. DiMauro is a veterinarian and owner of the Horsham Veterinary Hospital. Dare is a real estate sales agent for Re/Max Action.

The American Land Title Association, a Washington national trade organization, has named Anne L. Anastasi president-elect for the 2009-10 year. She is president of Hatboro-based Genesis Abstract L.L.C.

Paul Sandler, general manager of The Palm in Atlantic City, has been appointed to the Richard Stockton College of New Jersey's Foundation board of directors.

The COAD Group, a countywide, nonprofit human-service organization in Chester County, has named Alan G. Morse to its board. He is senior vice president and chief clinical officer of Carebridge Corp., Malvern.

Holy Family University, Philadelphia, has appointed the following to its board of trustees:

Sister M. Josita Churla is an educator at St. Katherine of Siena Grade School, Philadelphia.

Sister M. Rosemarie Griffin is spiritual director and volunteer coordinator at St. Mary's Villa for Children and Families, Ambler.

Frank J. Mummolo is managing director at MCA Consulting Services Inc., Doylestown.

Sister M. Rita Partyka is director of associates at Mount Nazareth, Philadelphia.

Patrick T. Ryan is partner at Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, L.L.P., Philadelphia.

Children's Village, a Philadelphia nonprofit human-services organization, has appointed the following to its board:

C. Camille Edmond was an officer of the Pew Charitable Trusts, Philadelphia.

Penelope R. Ettinger is a consultant for Policy and Program Development and has worked with Head Start, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, and the City of Philadelphia, Mayor's Child Care Office.

Michelle S. Gollapalli is associate director, principal and major gifts for Alzheimer's Association.

The Greater Philadelphia Chapter of the Healthcare Businesswoman's Association, a professional organization with members from pharmaceutical, biotech, health-care, and managed-care companies; publishers, advertising, medical education, and communications agencies, and other service providers, has named the following to its 2010 board:

Ciaran Bellwoar, director, client services at I-Site, Philadelphia, is president.

Nancy Santilli, vice president, corporate special projects at Endo Pharmaceuticals Holdings Inc., Chadds Ford, is president-elect.

Judy Klein, president, inKlein Consulting, Philadelphia, is vice president.

Betty Michelson, senior vice president, business development at MTI Information Technologies, Langhorne, is secretary.

Robbyn Bhatt, a manager at Pfizer Inc., Collegeville, is treasurer. - Mike Zebe