Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

On the Boards

James H. Carll has been elected to the board of the Union League of Philadelphia, a 3,200-member organization founded in 1862. Carll is chairman of Archer & Greiner P.C., Haddonfield, and chairman of the firm's Corporate Department.

James H. Carll

has been elected to the board of the

Union League of Philadelphia

, a 3,200-member organization founded in 1862. Carll is chairman of Archer & Greiner P.C., Haddonfield, and chairman of the firm's Corporate Department.

The Committee of Seventy, a nonpartisan organization advocating clean, effective government, fair elections, and a better-informed citizenry in Philadelphia and the region, has elected the following to its board:

Loree Jones is co-executive director of City Year Greater Philadelphia.

Stephen A. Madva is managing partner at Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads L.L.P.

Michael K. Pearson is founder and president of Union Packaging L.L.C.

Stephen S. Tang is president and chief executive officer of the University City Science Center.

Edward N. Walters is director of product and research at Janney Montgomery Scott L.L.C.

Crown Holdings Inc., the Philadelphia maker of metal food and beverage cans, said James H. Miller had been elected to its board. Miller is chairman, president, and CEO of PPL Corp.

ERT, a Philadelphia provider of technology and services to the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and medical-device industries, has named Klaus Besier to its board. Besier has been president and CEO of SAP America Inc. and president and CEO of Firepond Inc.

Hosts for Hospitals, a Philadelphia nonprofit organization that provides free lodging at private host homes for out-of-town patients and their families, has selected three new board members:

William R. Tietjen is a certified consulting associate with the Lee Hecht Harrison Career Transition Practice of Greater Philadelphia and the Delaware Valley Region.

Sally J. Bellet is president of Stein/Bellet Foundation Inc.

Stephen M. Hahn is the chairman and Henry K. Pancoast Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

Justin P. Klein, who heads the securities practice at Ballard Spahr L.L.P., was reappointed to a three-year term on the Attorney Advisory Committee of the Pennsylvania Securities Commission.

Center City Proprietors Association, a nonprofit Philadelphia business-advocacy and education organization, has elected the following officers and board members for 2010-11:

Linda Karp, president of Karp Marketing, Philadelphia, is president.

Joe Wolf, retail director of the market and shops at Comcast Center for Liberty Property Trust, Philadelphia, is vice president.

Eric Marzluf, partner at Caesar, Rivise, Bernstein, Cohen & Pokotilow Ltd., Philadelphia, is secretary.

Paul Steinke, general manager of Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia, is treasurer.

Elected to the CCPA board:

Audrey Julienne is owner of Raison D'Etre, Philadelphia.

Susan Perloff is owner of Perloff WRITES, Philadelphia.

Linda Rink is president of RINK Consulting, Philadelphia.

Tina R. Makoulian, co-partner-in-charge of the Zoning and Land Use Group at Ballard Spahr, was elected to the board of Commercial Real Estate Women Network, a professional organization.

Philadelphia Financial, a Plymouth Meeting provider of insurance strategies to financial advisers, has appointed the following to its board:

Michael G. Barnes is managing partner of Tricadia Capital Management L.L.C.

Joseph A. Fillip Jr. is executive vice president and general counsel of Philadelphia Financial.

John K. Hillman is president and CEO of Philadelphia Financial.

Robert H. Kanner is chairman, president, and CEO of Pubco Corp.

Geoffrey Kauffman is president and chief operating officer of Tiptree Financial Partners L.P.

Paul L. Schaye is managing director of Chestnut Hill Partners L.L.C.

Stuart J. Schlesinger is founding member of BCRS Associates L.L.C.

LLR Partners Inc., a middle-market private-equity firm with more than $1.4 billion under management, said Frank Filipps and William Jacobs had joined the firm's new Financial Services Advisory Board. Filipps most recently was chairman and CEO of Clayton Holdings Inc. and had been chairman and CEO of Radian Group Inc. Jacobs is the lead director of Global Payments Inc. and was chief operating officer of MasterCard Inc.

The American College of Surgeons Inc. has named Linwood R. Haith Jr. chair of the Committee on Surgical Infections and Environmental Risks. Haith is a burn and critical-care surgeon at Crozer-Chester Medical Center, Upland, and a clinical associate professor of surgery at Temple University School of Medicine, Philadelphia, and Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia.

The Philadelphia Chapter of Executive Women International, a professional association, has appointed the following officers and members to its 2011 board:

Donna M. Massanova, partner/employee benefit plans practice leader at ParenteBeard L.L.C., is president.

Susan L. Aldworth, business development manager for MCS Management Services, is vice president and president-elect.

Ave-Marie Volinsky, branch manager, business development for Alliance Bank, is treasurer.

Janet Petsko, partner of Image Ink, is secretary/communications director.

Jeanine Natalie, employee benefits consultant at HUB International Northeast, is sergeant-at-arms.

Donna Sheinbach, executive vice president, marketing services at Market Incentives, is sergeant-at-arms.

Gail W. Ruopp, executive director of Flaster/Greenberg P.C., is program co-chair.

Lynn Fraser, senior account executive of Contemporary Staffing Solutions, is program co-chair.

Sylvia T. Spivey, development and scholarship associate at the Philadelphia Foundation, is ways and means director.

Marie Gallagher, executive assistant for the Union League of Philadelphia, is membership co-director.

Christy Barilotti, is managing partner/certified financial professional at Barilotti Wealth Strategies L.L.C., is membership co-director.

Missy McNamara Quinn, director of talent acquisition at Contemporary Staffing Solutions, is adviser to the board.

Scott H. Marcus has been appointed to the board of the Gloucester County Chapter of the American Red Cross. He is president of Scott H. Marcus & Associates, Washington Township/Turnersville.

The Smith Memorial Playground & Playhouse Inc., a Philadelphia nonprofit organization, has named Philadelphia District Attorney Seth Williams to its board.

Jeannette Boulind, former senior product manager for Colgate-Palmolive Co. and marketing manager for Comstock Stock Photography, has been a Smith volunteer since 2007 and is a member of the First Book Philadelphia grant-writing committee.

Domestic Relations Association of Pennsylvania, a Pennsylvania nonprofit organization that assists the child-support enforcement program, has elected Joe Kamnik as treasurer. Kamnik is the director of financial services and Title IV-D Compliance with the Philadelphia Family Court.

The Arc of Delaware County, a nonprofit organization that advocates for children and adults with developmental disabilities, has named Ed Abrams, Sharon Weil-Chalker, and Carrie Weimer to its board. Abrams is anchor for KYW Newsradio 1060. Weil-Chalker is a pediatric cardiologist at Perinatal Cardiology Consultants of Havertown. Weimer and her husband own Weimer Family Podiatry.

Catherine R. Clifton and Leslie Anne Miller were named to the board of Penn Medicine, academic medical centers comprised of the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania Health System. Clifton is vice president of Review Publishing L.P., publisher of Philadelphia Weekly, Atlantic City Weekly, and the South Philly Review. Miller is a Philadelphia lawyer and an adviser to Mayor Nutter. - Mike Zebe