Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

On the Boards

The board of trustees of EducationWorks, a Lawrenceville educational nonprofit organization, elected Kevin Cafferky and Matt McManness as members. Cafferky is controller of OIC Philadelphia. McManness is chief financial officer of La Salle University.

The board of trustees of


, a Lawrenceville educational nonprofit organization, elected

Kevin Cafferky


Matt McManness

as members. Cafferky is controller of OIC Philadelphia. McManness is chief financial officer of La Salle University.

The Rowan University Foundation named Alyce Parker, principal of Alyce Parker & Associates, as chair for a second term. Paul Tully, registered principal, Eagle Wealth Strategies, will be treasurer. Joseph Bottazzi, executive vice president of business development at Edelman Financial Services L.L.C., is secretary.

John Saler was named cochair of the Academy of Music 155th annual anniversary concert and ball. He is chair of the Government and Public Affairs Practice Group at Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young. He will share duties with Joanna McNeil Lewis, president and chair of the academy.

Philip Santarelli was appointed to the Center for Audit Quality's Professional Practice Executive Committee in January. He is a partner and chief risk officer at ParenteBeard, Philadelphia.

The National Safety Council, a Philadelphia nonprofit that works to prevent injuries, elected the following board members:

Daniel Frank, president of Wheels Services, Wheels Inc.

Michael R. Gambrell, executive vice president at Dow Chemical Co.

John P. Surma, chairman and CEO of U.S. Steel Corp.

Jeffrey J. Woodbury, vice president, safety, security, health, and environment at Exxon Mobil Corp.

The Pennsylvania Medical Society, a statewide Harrisburg association, elected the following physicians to its board of trustees:

F. Wilson Jackson 3d, a gastroenterologist from Camp Hill, is a medical specialties trustee.

William A. VanDecker, a cardiologist from Philadelphia, is a medical specialties trustee.

Theodore A. Christopher, an emergency medicine physician from Philadelphia, is an at-large trustee.

Enrique Hernandez, a gynecological oncologist from Philadelphia, is a First District trustee, representing physicians from Philadelphia.

Scott E. Shapiro, a cardiovascular-disease specialist and internal-medicine specialist, is the medical society's young physician trustee, representing physicians statewide under the age of 40.

John W. Spurlock, a gynecologist from Bethlehem, is vice speaker of the Pennsylvania Medical Society's House of Delegates.

Martin D. Trichtinger, an internist from Hatboro, is the Pennsylvania Medical Society's speaker of the House of Delegates.

Sandra Girifalco was elected to the board of Manor College, a private college in Jenkintown. She is a partner at Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, Philadelphia.

Lewis F. Gould Jr. was reappointed a commonwealth trustee of Temple University for a four-year term. He is chair of the worldwide Intellectual Property Practice Group at Duane Morris L.L.P., Philadelphia.

Drexel University professor Donald N. Bersoff, a national expert on legal and ethical issues in mental health, was elected 2013 president of the American Psychological Association, Washington. Bersoff serves on the faculties of the psychology department in Drexel University's College of Arts and Sciences and in the Earle Mack School of Law.

Timothy R. Lawn of the Philadelphia law firm Raynes McCarty was inducted as a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

The New Jersey Aviation Association elected John J. McNamara, a founding member the group, chairman. McNamara is a pilot and lawyer in private practice.

Roger Moog, who recently retired as manager of the Regional Aviation Planning Program at the Delaware Valley Regional Commission, is vice chairman.

Suzy Solberg Nagle, a co-owner of Solberg Airport, is secretary.

Eric Bossard, a corporate pilot and manager of the BASF Corp. Flight Department in Morristown, is treasurer.

Moore College of Art and Design, Philadelphia, elected Marta Adelson to its board. Adelson is a member of Impact 100, a nonprofit grant organization.

Public Health Management Corp., a Philadelphia nonprofit public health institute, named the following officers and members to its board:

Renée Cardwell Hughes, chief executive officer of the American Red Cross/SEPA, is chair; Denise Christian, national medical director of UnitedHealthcare Community & State, is vice chair; Michael K. Pearson, president of Union Packaging L.L.C., is treasurer; and Stephen P. Fera, vice president, social mission at Independence Blue Cross, is secretary.

Board members include: Joseph M. DiMino, director of health and medical director of the Montgomery County Health Department; Autumn A. Graves, president of Girard College; and Michele Volpe, executive director of Penn Presbyterian Medical Center.

Douglas Panzer, an associate with Caesar, Rivise, Bernstein, Cohen & Pokotilow Ltd., was named to the Dean's Advisory Council for American University Washington College of Law in Washington.

- Mike Zebe