Foundation for the History of Women in Medicine, Boston, named Julia A. Haller to its board. She is ophthalmologist-in-chief at Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia.

Amy Jordan, associate director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, has been elected president-elect of the International Communication Association, an organization devoted to scholarship in the field of communication. Jordan will assume the presidency in 2015.

Related stories

Health Partners Plans, Philadelphia, has appointed Dennis Cook to its board. He is system president and CEO of WES Health System.

Patrick J. Murphy has been reappointed by President Obama to the board of visitors at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y. He is a litigation partner in the national law firm of Fox Rothschild L.L.P. Murphy was the first Iraq War veteran elected to Congress and was a special assistant U.S. attorney in New York and in Iraq, where he prosecuted terrorists.

Amber Racine has been elected president of the Barristers' Association of Philadelphia, an active participant in a community of practicing black lawyers, judges and law students nationwide and affiliate of the National Bar Association. She is an attorney at Raynes McCarty, Philadelphia.

Merle R. Ochrach has been elected to the board of the Montgomery Theater in Souderton. She is a principal in the real estate department at Hamburg, Rubin, Mullin, Maxwell & Lupin, Lansdale.

Chris Fifis has been named to the board of Samaritan Healthcare & Hospice, a Moorestown provider of hospice and palliative care, grief support and counseling, end-of-life education, research and advocacy. He is a producer at Hardenbergh Insurance Group.

The Temple University board of trustees elected the following members: H.F. (Gerry) Lenfest, philanthropist and chairman of Interstate General Media, which owns and operates The Inquirer, the Philadelphia Daily News, and; Anthony McIntyre, president of the McIntyre Group; Joseph Coradino, chief executive officer at Pennsylvania Real Estate Investment Trust; Loretta Duckworth, an educator and businesswoman.

SHARE Food Program Inc. a Philadelphia nonprofit dedicated to increasing access to healthy, affordable food, elected Andrew Anderson chair. He is a community representative at Friends Rehabilitation Program Inc. in Philadelphia. Julia Manning was elected vice chair. She is senior counsel at AstraZeneca in Wilmington. Tamsen Sharpless, program senior manager, global clients, services and talent at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ltd., and Ira Goldstein, president, policy solutions at the Reinvestment Fund, were named board members. - Mike Zebe