Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

The Boardroom

The Madlyn and Leonard Abramson Center for Jewish Life elected the following new board trustees: Glenn Blumenfeld, a principal at Tactix Real Estate Advisors, Philadelphia.

Emily Sudermann (left) and Susan Davis.
Emily Sudermann (left) and Susan Davis.Read more

The Madlyn and Leonard Abramson Center for Jewish Life elected the following new board trustees: Glenn Blumenfeld, a principal at Tactix Real Estate Advisors, Philadelphia; Susan Davis, Abramson Center Auxiliary president; Beth E. Drapkin, member of Chabad of the Main Line and Lower Merion Synagogue; Nancy A. Goldsmith, Abramson Center Auxiliary treasurer and secretary; and Donald M. Rosen, retired, president of Infiniti of Willow Grove and Audi of Willow Grove.

Emily Sudermann has been elected president of the board of the International Claim Association. She is assistant vice president of claims and beneficiary care at Lincoln Financial Group, Radnor.

The Middle States Association Commissions on Elementary and Secondary Schools has appointed the following as commissioners: Maureen McDermott, superintendent of secondary schools for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia and former principal of Bishop Shanahan High School in Downingtown; William Stevens, headmaster at Wilmington Christian School in Wilmington; Gene Freeman, superintendent of the Fox Chapel Area School District and former superintendent of the Manheim Township School District in Lancaster County; James Kraft, administrative director for the Berks Career and Technology Center in Leesport, Pa.; William Crist, superintendent of schools in the Diocese of Syracuse in Syracuse, N.Y.; Robin Heslip, superintendent of the American Community Schools in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates; and Janasee Sinclair, principal at St. Croix Central High School on St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands.

Sandra Harmon-Weiss has been elected to the board of trustees at Temple University. An alumna of the university, she is a retired family physician, geriatrician, and insurance executive who chairs the Katz School of Medicine's board of visitors.

University of the Sciences, Philadelphia, has named the following members to its board of trustees: Carla Hendricks, director of tax planning at News Corp/Dow Jones; Michael C. Hemsley, deputy general counsel at Trinity Health Corp.; and Michael J. Sofia, chief scientific officer at Arbutus Biopharma.

Steven K. Mignogna, a shareholder in Archer & Greiner's Haddonfield office, has been reappointed chair of the Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee in the Litigation, Ethics and Malpractice Group of the American Bar Association's Real Property, Trust and Estate Law Section. He previously served as chair and vice chair of that group.

Andrew R. Heyer, a member of the University of Pennsylvania's board of trustees, has been named chair of Penn Medicine. Heyer is chief executive officer and a managing director of Mistral Equity Partners. He replaced Mark O. Winkelman, a senior director of Goldman, Sachs & Co. and a member of the Wharton board of overseers. Winkelman remains a member of the Penn board of trustees.

Maguire Foundation, a West Conshohocken nonprofit that invests in programs supporting education, the arts and humanities, and the relief of hunger and homelessness, has named James J. Maguire chairman. He is founder and chairman emeritus of Philadelphia Consolidated Holding Corp.

The U.S. Sentencing Commission

has appointed Ronald H. Levine chair of its Practitioners Advisory Group. The group is comprised of private criminal-defense attorneys appointed from each federal judicial circuit, as well as at-large appointees. A former chief of the Criminal Division of the U.S. Attorney's Office in Philadelphia, Levin is chair of the internal investigations and white-collar defense practice group at Post & Schell P.C., Philadelphia.

Nemours, a children's health system that owns and operates Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children in Wilmington, has elected the following board members: James S. Hunt, retired executive vice president and chief financial officer of Walt Disney Co.; Linda D. Norman, dean of the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing; Marc Probst, vice president and chief information officer of Intermountain Healthcare; and Valerie Montgomery Rice, president and dean of the Morehouse School of Medicine.

- Mike Zebe