Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Who are Philly's top principals?

These Philadelphia School District principals, recognized as among the city's best, will receive $20,000 for their schools.

Ted Domers, principal of George Washington Carver High School of Engineering and Science, is a winner of a 2018 Lindback award for distinguished principals.
Ted Domers, principal of George Washington Carver High School of Engineering and Science, is a winner of a 2018 Lindback award for distinguished principals.Read moreSAQUOIA FREEMAN / Philadelphia School District

The Lindback Foundation's 2018 Lindback Foundation Distinguished Principal Leadership Awards are scheduled to be given out to top Philadelphia School District principals Thursday at the Prince Theater in Center City. The prize comes with $20,000 for each educator's school. Here are the winners, chosen by a committee of district staff and Lindback Foundation trustees from over 50 applicants across the city.

Ted Domers, George Washington Carver High School of Engineering and Science. In addition to being Carver's principal, he is also the founder and chair of the Friends of Carver HSES. Domers, a Neubauer Fellow in Educational Leadership, also serves as a principal mentor. He completed his undergraduate work at Goucher College and earned master's and doctoral degrees at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dywonne Davis-Harris, Potter-Thomas Promise Academy. A Philadelphia native, Davis-Harris graduated from the school system she has served for almost two decades. During her tenure, she has been committed to Philadelphia's youth and strives to provide educational leadership to her teachers and staff, ensuring that the children of Potter-Thomas receive a rigorous, high-quality education.

Jodan Floyd, AMY Northwest Middle School. A product of the Philadelphia School District, Floyd entered the education field because of the inspiring teachers who motivated her growing up. As a result of her experiences, Floyd strongly believes educators can change the trajectory of student lives, and leads her school with that in mind.

John Piniat, Feltonville Arts and Sciences. Piniat is a passionate educator who rallies community resources to meet the educational, social, and behavioral needs of his community. He is committed to supporting his teachers, students, and their families, and strives to improve implementation of technology in every student's classroom. He is a Neubauer Fellow in Educational Leadership.

Fatima Rogers, Charles W. Henry Elementary. Rogers, a graduate of Cheyney and Temple Universities, is a Neubauer Fellow in Educational Leadership. She began her career in education in 1998; after six years of teaching, she began working as a math coach in the William Penn School District. Before she took over Henry, in West Mount Airy, she was principal of John B. Kelly Elementary in Germantown.

Deana Ramsey, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Center School. Ramsey knew from a very young age that she would lead people in a direction that supports social justice. She joined the Philadelphia School District in 1996 and became the principal of the Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Center School in 2013.

Michael Roth, Olney Elementary. Roth, in his fourth year as principal of Olney Elementary, believes in empowering teachers and that great teaching is the key to an exceptional school. Under his leadership, Olney has made tremendous strides in the area of student progress. It was one of the district's most improved schools last year.