The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage has awarded fellowships to 13 area artists.

The $60,000 awards are given annually in recognition of achievement and the artistic potential latent in the funds.

Among the winners this year are four composers and musicians, two choreographers, three visual artists, two poets, a photographer and a filmmaker.

The 2012 Pew fellows are:

Filmmaker Deron Albright, who was awarded a Fulbright Senior Scholar Fellowship to Ghana in 2008, where he lived with his family for a year and filmed his first feature film, The Destiny of Lesser Animals;

Instrumentalist and composer Marshall Belford Allen, an active member of the Sun Ra Arkestra for more than 50 years, who has directed the jazz group since 1995, following the death of Sun Ra;

Daniel Blacksberg, a trombonist and composer whose work reaches from jazz to klezmer;

Visual artist Alex Da Corte, who gathers detritus and consumables into assemblages and videos;

Meg Foley, a choreographer who has been inserting unexpected performance into daily life for the past few years, creating dance at the same time every day, no matter the circumstance;

Pianist and composer Matthew Mitchell, whose work synthesizes a wide range of electronic, acoustic, composed and improvised music;

Visual artists Dan Murphy and Anthony Smyrski, who work together as the artist duo Megawords, creators of installations and print materials;

Greg Osby, jazz saxophonist and composer;

Choreographer Jumatatu Poe, known for his exploration of J-Sette dance movements;

Poet Catie Rosemurgy, whose most recent collection, The Stranger Manual, was published by Graywolf Press in 2010;

Poet Kevin Varrone, who has worked for more than 10 years on a multiple-book project entitled g-point Almanac, which includes chapbooks published by ixnay press and Ugly Duckling Presse.

Documentary photographer Lori Waselchuk.