Finalists in the 49th annual "Art of the State" exhibition in Harrisburg have been announced by Pennsylvania cultural officials.

Out of 1,778 entries from 775 artists, 123 works of art from 117 artists have been selected for the show, opening June 26 at the The State Museum of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg.

Cash awards and a state purchase prize will be announced at the opening. Jurors for the exhibition include: Kevin Wixted, professor of drawing and painting, Alfred University School of Art & Design, Alfred, N.Y.; Marc Duke, photographer, Leesburg, Fla,; Beth Ann Gerstein, executive director, American Museum of Ceramic Art, Pomona, Calif.

The exhibit is co-sponsored by the state museum and Jump Street, a private nonprofit. The organizations will present more than $6,500 in cash awards to the winners.

Of the 117 finalists, 34 of the artists are from the five-county Philadelphia area.

From Bucks County: Linda Fanning-Lefevre, Kirby Fredendall, Glenn Harren, Amedeo Salamoni, and Mindy Trost.

From Chester County: Gregory Blue, Melanie Franz, Jocelyn Kolb-DeWitt, and Jennifer Nilsen.

From Delaware County: Jennifer Baker, Laura Ducceschi, Melissa Husted-Sherman, Alicia Nock, and Sienna Proetto.

From Montgomery County: Carol Albrecht, Robert Arnosky, Laszlo Bagi, Donna Douglass, Linda Dubin Garfield, Lisa Knight, Diane Lachman, Nancy Miller, Joan Radcliff Rosiak, Richard Ranck, Deborah Riccardi, Erin Sparler, Patricia Shaw Lima, Lois Schlachter, and Joseph Sweeney.

From Philadelphia County: Constance Culpepper, Jerry Di Falco, Timothy Gierschick II, Mimi Oritsky, and Donna Quinn.

The show runs through Sept. 11.