Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Oregon's Mariota wins Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Trophy announcement was much like many of Oregon's games this season. There was little debate who would win, but rather how much would they win by.

Ducks' quarterback Marcus Mariota was announced as the winner of college football's highest honor. The junior received 90.9 percent of the vote, giving him the second largest margin of victory of any Heisman Trophy winner.

Mariota threw for 3,783 yards, 38 touchdowns and just two interceptions while leading Oregon to a 12-1 regular season record and a berth in the first ever college football playoffs. He also rushed for 669 yards and 14 touchdowns. He is the first Oregon player to ever win the award.

The other two candidates for the Heisman were Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper. Gordon rushed for 2,336 yards this year, including a then-NCAA record 408 yards in one game against Nebraska. Cooper set the SEC record for receptions in a season with 115 to go along with catching 14 touchdown catches.

The Hawaii native's 90.9 percent of the vote was second all time, according to the ESPN broadcast. Troy Smith was the only winner to have a larger percentage, with 91.6 percent.

It is the fifth straight year a quarterback has been awarded the Heisman Trophy. Florida State's Jameis Winston, the Brown' Johnny Manziel, the Redskins' Robert Griffin III and the Panthers' Cam Newton were the last four quarterbacks to win the award.

Mariota takes the field again on Jan. 1 when the Ducks take on Florida State and last year's Heisman winner, Winston, in the Rose Bowl game. It is the semi-finals of the college football playoffs.