Nurses group honors Villanova dean

RADNOR A Villanova University dean and professor has been awarded the first lifetime achievement award from the Student Nurses' Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP).

M. Louise Fitzpatrick, the University College of Nursing's Connelly Endowed Dean and Professor, is considered the founder of Villanova's SNAP chapter, the university said in a statement.

Meghan Long, president of SNAP, called Fitzpatrick "an inspiration" to those in the organization for her dedication to student nurses. Fitzpatrick arrived at Villanova in 1978 and established the SNAP chapter.

In November, a scholarship was established in Fitzpatrick's name by the Nurses Educational Funds (NEF). Fitzpatrick has been a member of the NEF board since 1983. The new scholarship has been named the M. Louise Fitzpatrick Scholarship Fund.

- Mari A. Schaefer