State Rep. John Galloway this afternoon admitted he had been drinking and driving early Tuesday morning and apologized for making "a very serious mistake."

The Bucks County Democrat was arrested in Harrisburg early Tuesday morning on charges of driving under the influence after refusing to take a Breathalyzer test, police said.

Galloway, 50, was stopped about 3:15 a.m. on Second Street near Washington Street, not far from his apartment after a police officer spotted Galloway's car run a stop sign, said Capt. Annette Oates of the Harrisburg police.

Galloway, who represents the 140th District, told the officer that he was coming from the Capitol complex. The officer gave Galloway a field test, which he failed. The officer then asked Galloway to take the Breathalyzer test. Galloway refused, Oates said.

The officer placed Galloway under arrest and the representative will be charged by summons for driving under the influence, failing to use a turn signal, and failing to stop at a stop sign, Oates said.

Galloway, of Levittown, issued a contrite statement late Tuesday afternoon.

"Last night, I made a very serious mistake. I drove after drinking alcohol. I was pulled over in front of my apartment in Harrisburg. I cooperated fully with the police officer. It is my understanding that I will be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol," Galloway said.

"There is no excuse for drinking and driving. I apologize to my family, friends, colleagues, and the people I represent. Most importantly, I am thankful that no one was injured as a result."

Oates did not know how long Galloway was held, but said police protocol is to hold a suspected drunk driver until sober.

If found guilty, Galloway could have his driver's license suspended for a year.

A spokesman for the House Democratic caucus, Bill Patton, said he had few details about the incident and that Galloway had been placed on legislative leave Tuesday. Patton said the vehicle Galloway was driving is not state-owned.

Galloway is currently serving his third term in the House, having been first elected in 2006.