The Inquirer has won major awards in two New Jersey press contests.

David M Warren was named photographer of the year in the New Jersey Press Photographers Association's 2010 Clip Contest.

Awards from the New Jersey Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists were:


Photography, feature: Sharon Gekoski-Kimmel, "A Portrait of Hunger."

Feature writing: Mike Newall, "A little bit of South Philly at the Shore."

Business writing: Suzette Parmley, "Tip for A.C.: Conventions are a winner"

Newspaper column: Monica Yant Kinney, "N.J.'s cowardly adieu to same-sex 'I Do' "

Media-affiliated blog: Amy Rosenberg, "Jersey Shore."


Feature writing: Tom Avril, "Physics with fizz."

Business writing: Chelsea Conaboy, "Thousands languishing in foreclosure 'limbo land.' "

Editorial writing: Josh Gohlke, "Easy come, E-ZPass."

State and regional news: George Anastasia, "From star FBI witness to ostracism."

Sports reporting: Phil Anastasia, "The best high school coach in America?"

Headline writing: Chris Kupferer, "It's a movie role with legs."