Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Men's lacrosse quarterfinals this weekend

The men's lacrosse teams that will play for the NCAA Division I championship in Philadelphia will be determined this weekend.

The men's lacrosse teams that will play for the NCAA Division I championship in Philadelphia will be determined this weekend.

Winners of the quarterfinals Saturday and Sunday will advance to the semifinals at Lincoln Financial Field on May 25 at 2:30 and 5:30 p.m.

The championship game is set for May 27 at 1 p.m. at the Linc.

On Saturday, No. 1-seeded Syracuse will face unseeded Yale, and No. 3 Ohio State will meet unseeded Cornell at Maryland's Byrd Stadium.

On Sunday, No. 4 Denver is set to play No. 5 North Carolina, and No. 2 Notre Dame will take on No. 7 Duke at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Syracuse (14-3) is led by senior midfielder Luke Cometti and junior attack Derek Maltz, who have scored 28 goals apiece. Yale (12-4) is paced by junior Brandon Mangan, who has 36 goals.

Senior attack Logan Schuss has scored a team-high 43 goals for Ohio State (13-3). Cornell (13-3) counters with senior attack Steve Mock, who has a team-high 52 goals to rank second in the NCAA with an average of 3.47 per game.

North Carolina (13-3) is fourth in the NCAA in scoring offense and has been led by senior Marcus Holman, averaging 4.94 points per game. Denver (13-4) expects to get goals from sophomore Wes Berg, who has scored 44 this season.

Duke (13-5) has been paced by junior attack Jordan Wolf. The Lower Merion High graduate has 49 goals and 21 assists. Notre Dame (11-4) will rely on a combination of freshman Matt Kavanagh and senior Sean Rogers. Kavanagh has 29 goals, and Rogers has 23.

Local Players

on Tournament Teams

Matthew Lerman, Episcopal/Syracuse/ junior, goalkeeper

Bobby Tait, Germantown Academy/Syracuse, freshman, defense

Matt Walters, Haverford School/Syracuse, sophomore, midfield

Shane Carr, Penn Charter/Yale, freshman, attack/midfield

Ben Karr, Conestoga/Ohio State, sophomore, defense

Mike Bronzino, Conestoga/Cornell, senior, defense

Ryan Creighton, Malvern Prep/North Carolina, junior, midfield

Ryan Kilpatrick, West Chester (Salesianum School)/North Carolina, sophomore, defense

Andrew O'Connell, Malvern Prep/North Carolina, sophomore, goalkeeper

Steve Pontrello, St. Augustine Prep/North Carolina, freshman, midfield

Joey Sankey, Penn Charter/North Carolina, sophomore, attack

Joey Gigantiello, St. Augustine Prep/Denver, freshman, goalkeeper

Sean Snodgrass, Moorestown, Hill School/Denver, senior, midfield

Bill Conners, Malvern Prep/Duke, senior, defense

Brian Dailey, Conestoga/Duke, sophomore, midfield

Jamie Ikeda, Conestoga/Duke, freshman, defense

Henry Lobb, Malvern Prep/Duke, junior, defense

Tanner Scott, Conestoga/Duke, sophomore, midfield

Dan Wigrizer, Haverford School/Duke, senior, goalkeeper

Jordan Wolf, Lower Merion/Duke, junior, attack

Tyler Andersen, Radnor/Notre Dame, senior, midfield/defense

Adam Goins, Conestoga/Notre Dame, freshman, midfield

Westy Hopkins, La Salle/Notre Dame, junior, attack

Liam O'Connor, Haverford School/Notre Dame, junior, midfield

Stephen O'Hara, St. Joseph's Prep/Notre Dame, junior, defense

Jack Sheridan, Malvern Prep/Notre Dame, freshman, defense