The Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame announced its new members Thursday, and former Phillies manager Charlie Manuel and retired Eagles safety Brian Dawkins highlight the list of 15 individuals and one team.

Nine sports were represented on the list that included the 1966-67 76ers, and bowling made the cut for the first time.

Sylvia Wene Martin was the first female bowler to roll three perfect games in sanctioned competitions. She is already in both the Philadelphia Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and the Women's International Bowling Hall of Fame.

"I think it's as good a year as any we've had," said Ken Avallon, the Hall's president.

One inductee in attendance at the announcement on Thursday was former bantamweight world champion boxer Jeff Chandler. Also a member of the World Boxing Hall of Fame, he was born and raised in Philadelphia and held the WBA bantamweight title from 1980 to '84.

The 1966-67 76ers featured a lineup that included Wilt Chamberlain, Billy Cunningham, and Luke Jackson, one of the best front lines in NBA history. The 76ers won the NBA championship that year by beating the San Francisco Warriors, four games to two, in the title round.

Five members of that team had already been inducted into the Hall as individuals.

Manuel, the manager of the Phillies' 2008 World Series champions, holds the Phillies all-time record with 780 wins as a manager. Dawkins was a nine-time Pro Bowler who in 2002 became the first player in the NFL to record a sack, interception, forced fumble, and a touchdown return in a game.

He is also the Eagles' all-time leader in interceptions, forced fumbles, and assisted tackles. His No. 20 jersey was retired by the team in 2012.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is set for Nov. 3 at the Hilton hotel on City Avenue.


1966-67 76ers; Al Severance; Brian Dawkins; Bruce Harlan; Charlie Manuel; Chris Short; Dick "Hoops" Weiss; Jeff Chandler; Jimmy Watson; George Orton; Goose Goslin; Herman Taylor; Marilyn Stephens; Steve Fredericks; Sylvia Wene Martin; Vonnie Gros.