Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and Oregon running back LaMichael James, two of the nation's most dynamic players, will meet in the national championship game next month.

First, a stop in New York.

Newton and James were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy on Monday, and will be joined by Stanford's Andrew Luck and Kellen Moore of Boise State for Saturday's announcement in Times Square.

Newton overcame a pay-to-play scandal with a superb season on the field, piling up nearly 4,000 combined yards and 49 touchdowns in leading the top-ranked Tigers into the Jan. 10 national championship game.

James and the Ducks will be there waiting for them in the desert after he piled up more yards and touchdowns than anyone else in FBS, helping the second-ranked Ducks into their first national title game.

Colorado names Embree. A former Colorado standout tight end and onetime assistant, Jon Embree is returning to campus to take over the team and surrounding himself with coaches steeped in the Buffs tradition.

Embree was officially introduced as coach after accepting a five-year deal worth approximately $1 million a season, not counting incentives.

Kill leading Badgers. Jerry Kill takes over as head coach at Minnesota after going 23-16 in three seasons at Northern Illinois, leading the Huskies to three straight bowl games. He went 55-32 in seven seasons at Southern Illinois before that.

Players of the year. A pair of running backs, Dartmouth's Nick Schwieger and Harvard's Gino Gordon, were named co-winners of the Asa S. Bushnell Cup as Ivy League players of the year.

Penn quarterback Billy Ragone was a finalist for the award.

Penn's Samson a finalist. Penn senior kicker Andrew Samson was named one of the 10 finalists for the 2010 Fred Mitchell Award, which is provided to the placekicker that best excels on the football field and in the community in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, Division III and NAIA divisions combined.

Kutztown coach honored. Kutztown University head football coach Raymond Monica was named the American Football Coaches' Association Division II Region I coach of the year.

College bound. Chris Hutton, a wide receiver and defensive back from Paul VI, has made an oral commitment to attend Temple.

Mike Spear of Bishop Eustace, one of the top football centers in South Jersey, has made an oral commitment to attend Bucknell.