BALTIMORE - Colin Briggs scored five goals Monday as seventh-seeded Virginia beat unseeded Maryland, 9-7, to win the NCAA men's lacrosse championship before 35,661 fans at M&T Bank Stadium.

Goalie Niko Amato, a former La Salle High star from Conshohocken, made eight saves for the Terrapins.

Briggs scored three times on uncontested shots and twice beat defenders one-on-one, earning the outstanding player award.

Matt White scored three times and Nick O'Reilly had a goal and four assists for the Cavaliers.

Grant Catalino had two goals and an assist for Maryland (13-6).

A month ago, Virginia suspended two starting midfielders for a violation of team rules. One of them was a two-time first-team all-American. Two months ago, the team's best defenseman was lost for the year after shoulder surgery.

Briggs, a redshirt junior, had been suspended for a semifinal victory over Denver for what coach Dom Starsia called "a team matter."

Still, Virginia won its fifth national title. The Cavaliers (13-5) set a record for most losses by an NCAA champion.

The Terrapins trailed, 6-4 entering the fourth quarter. But goals by fifth-year senior Brian Farrell and senior Ryan Young tied the score at 6 with 11 minutes, 43 seconds to play.

Virginia senior Garett Ince won the ensuing faceoff and O'Reilly scored off an assist from White for a 7-6 lead with 10:03 left.

White scored off an assist by junior Steele Stanwick to make it 8-6 with 5:29 left.