JIMMY JOHNSON, who went 52-9 and won the 1987 national championship in 5 years at the University of Miami before leaving to become coach of the Dallas Cowboys, Tuesday was announced as part of a class of 17 former players and coaches selected for the College Football Hall of Fame.

"While winning back-to-back Super Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys was rewarding, the most fun I had in football was in college," Johnson said.

The other coaches to be inducted in December are Phillip Fulmer, who won the first BCS title in 1998 with Tennessee, and R.C. Slocum, the winningest coach in Texas A&M history.

Former Eagles quarterback Ty Detmer, the record-breaking 1990 Heisman Trophy winner for BYU, led a group of 14 players heading to the Hall of Fame. The others: QBs Steve Bartkowski (California) and Tommy Kramer (Rice), receiver Art Monk (Syracuse), tight end Dave Casper (Notre Dame), tackle Jonathan Ogden (UCLA), running backs Charles Alexander (LSU) and Otis Armstrong (Purdue), defensive backs Scott Thomas (Air Force) and Greg Myers (Colorado State), split end Hal Bedsole (USC), defensive end Gabe Rivera (Texas Tech), former Eagles linebacker Mark Simoneau (Kansas State), and guard John Wooten (Colorado), a former Eagles executive.

In other college news:

* Idaho receiver Ken McRoyal, 22, was fatally shot at a weekend party in Los Angeles. Detectives were trying to determine a motive and a suspect in the early-Sunday death.

* Florida defensive tackle Leon Orr was cited for driving with a suspended license, violating terms of his deferred prosecution agreement. The first-degree misdemeanor comes 4 months after he was arrested for marijuana possession. He is scheduled to appear in court June 6.

* Big Ten officials rejected on-campus sites for a potential four-team national college football playoff, preferring to keep the Rose Bowl and other traditional bowls venues intact.

Philly File * 

Temple tight end Matt Balasavage signed with the Baltimore Ravens as a rookie free agent to become the 11th Owl to sign with an NFL team this spring, a school record for the largest class.

* Cherry Hill's Bobby Ryan scored the first goal for the United States in the second period, helping it to a 5-2 victory over Switzerland at the ice hockey world championships in Helsinki. On Thursday, the USA plays Finland and Canada faces Slovakia in Group A quarterfinals.

Sport Stops * 

Kurt Busch was fined $50,000 by NASCAR for reckless driving on pit road at Darlington and a postrace altercation with Ryan Newman's crew members Saturday. NASCAR also placed Newman crew chief Tony Gibson on probation and crew member Andrew Rueger was fined $5,000 and placed on probation. Busch's motorhome driver, Craig Strickler, was fined $5,000 and placed on probation for interfering with a member of the Fox broadcast team.

Geoffroy Serey Die, a midfielder for FC Sion in the Swiss Football League, has been suspended for eight matches for slapping a ball boy in the face after his team was beaten by a rival.