Skip to content
College Sports
Link copied to clipboard

Best of the March Madness

NCAA picks tourney's top players, moments, teams.

Villanova's Ed Pinckney yells out as he is surrounded by teammates after the Wildcats defeated Georgetown and claimed the NCAA Championship in 1985. (Gary Landers/AP file photo)
Villanova's Ed Pinckney yells out as he is surrounded by teammates after the Wildcats defeated Georgetown and claimed the NCAA Championship in 1985. (Gary Landers/AP file photo)Read more

The NCAA on Tuesday named the top 75 all-time NCAA tournament players, the 25 all-time teams and 35 all-time March Madness moments as part of its season-long celebration of 75 years of the tourney.

From a pool of more than 100 former players, NCAA staff analyzed statistical data compiled exclusively from performances in NCAA tournament games to determine the 75 players.

The lists were compiled and researched by the NCAA's basketball and statistics staffs, consulting members of the media and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

75 top players (by school)

Arizona: Sean Elliott; Miles Simon

Arkansas: Corliss Williamson

Butler: Shelvin Mack

California: Darrall Imhoff

Cincinnati: Paul Hogue; Oscar Robertson; Tom Thacker

Connecticut: Richard Hamilton; Emeka Okafor; Kemba Walker

Duke: Shane Battier; Johnny Dawkins; Danny Ferry; Grant Hill; Bobby Hurley; Christian Laettner

Florida: Joakim Noah

Georgetown: Patrick Ewing

Georgia Tech: Kenny Anderson

Holy Cross: George Kaftan

Houston: Clyde Drexler; Elvin Hayes; Hakeem Olajuwon

Indiana: Steve Alford; Kent Benson; Scott May; Keith Smart; Isaiah Thomas

Indiana State: Larry Bird

Jacksonville: Artis Gilmore

Kansas: Wilt Chamberlain; Clyde Lovellette; Danny Manning

Kentucky: Anthony Davis; Tony Delk; Jack Givens; Dan Issel

Louisville: Pervis Ellison; Darrell Griffith

Marquette: Butch Lee

Maryland: Juan Dixon

Michigan: Glen Rice

Michigan State: Mateen Cleaves; Magic Johnson

Navy: David Robinson

Nevada-Las Vegas: Stacey Augmon; Larry Johnson

North Carolina: Tyler Hansbrough; Antawn Jamison; Michael Jordan; Sean May; Lennie Rosenbluth; James Worthy

North Carolina State: David Thompson

Notre Dame: Austin Carr

Ohio State: Jerry Lucas

Oklahoma A&M: Bob Kurland

Princeton: Bill Bradley

San Francisco: Bill Russell

Seattle: Elgin Baylor

St. John's: Chris Mullin

Syracuse: Carmelo Anthony

Texas Western (UTEP): Bobby Joe Hill

UCLA: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Lew Alcindor); Gail Goodrich; Walt Hazzard; Bill Walton; Sidney Wicks; Jamaal Wilkes

Utah: Arnie Ferrin

Villanova: Ed Pinckney

Virginia: Ralph Sampson

West Virginia: Jerry West 

Wyoming: Ken Sailors

35 greatest moments

1939 Oregon wins first NCAA tournament; 1963 Loyola (Ill.) beats Mississippi St.; 1966 Texas Western - a win for civil rights; 1973 Walton leads UCLA to title; 1974 N.C. State ends UCLA's run; 1975 UCLA's John Wooden goes out with 10th title; 1976 Indiana wins the title - perfectly; 1977 Marquette's Al McGuire goes out on top; 1979 Magic vs. Bird; 1981 Danny Ainge's full-court drive leads BYU's last-second win; 1981 U.S. Reed, Rolando Blackman, and John Smith hit big shots; 1982 Jordan hits game-winner to lead North Carolina; 1983 N.C. State's last-second win over Houston; 1985 Andre Turner: twice a hero; 1985 Villanova upsets Georgetown; 1987 Indiana's Smart shocks Syracuse; 1989 Rumeal Robinson seals Michigan victory; 1990 Loyola Marymount's Bo Kimble shoots lefty. 1990 UConn's Tate George beats Clemson in final seconds; 1990 Laettner beats UConn; 1991 Duke upsets UNLV; 1991 Richmond makes history; 1992 Laettner hits last-second shot vs. Kentucky; 1995 Tyus Edney saves UCLA; 1996 Mile High Madness: Syracuse beats Georgia in OT; 1998 The Bryce Drew shot - Valpo upsets Ole Miss; 1998 Hamilton rips the heart out of Washington; 1999 The nation meets Gonzaga; 2001 Hampton coach Steve Merfeld gets a lift; 2005 Regional Finals for the ages; 2006 George Mason reaches Final Four; 2008 Kansas comes back in closing minutes to win title; 2010 Butler comes oh so close; 2011 VCU goes from First Four to the Final Four; 2012 Missouri and Duke upset on same day.

25 greatest teams

   1946-47 Holy Cross, coach Doggie Julian, record 27-3; 1951-52 Kansas, Phog Allen, 28-3; 1955-56 San Francisco, Phil Woolpert, 29-0; 1956-57 North Carolina, Frank McGuire, 32-0; 1959-60 Ohio State, Fred Taylor, 25-3; 1966-67 UCLA, John Wooden, 30-0; 1967-68 UCLA, Wooden, 29-1; 1968-69 UCLA, Wooden, 29-1; 1971-72 UCLA, Wooden, 30-0; 1972-73 UCLA, Wooden, 30-0; 1973-74 North Carolina State, Norm Sloan, 30-1;  

   1975-76 Indiana, Bobby Knight, 32-0; 1978-79 Michigan State, Jud Heathcote, 26-6; 1979-80 Louisville, Denny Crum, 33-3; 1981-82 North Carolina, Dean Smith, 32-2; 1983-84 Georgetown, John Thompson, 34-3; 1989-90 UNLV, Jerry Tarkanian, 35-5; 1991-92 Duke, Mike Krzyzewski, 34-2; 1992-93 North Carolina, Smith, 34-4; 1995-96 Kentucky, Rick Pitino, 34-2; 1996-97 Arizona, Lute Olson, 25-9; 2003-04 Connecticut, Jim Calhoun, 33-6; 2006-07 Florida, Billy Donovan, 35-5; 2008-09 North Carolina, Roy Williams, 34-4; 2011-12 Kentucky, John Calipari, 38-2.