The Big Five announced Thursday that it would induct five men's basketball teams into its Hall of Fame, choosing the top team from each of the five schools, certainly the ones that achieved the highest national ranking.

The teams going in at a banquet on April 11 will be La Salle's 1968-69 Explorers, Penn's 1970-71 Quakers, Villanova's 1984-85 Wildcats, Temple's 1987-88 Owls, and St. Joseph's 2003-04 Hawks.

Villanova is the only national champion in the group.

The La Salle team reached No. 2 and was 23-1, just ineligible for the NCAA tournament because of violations under the previous coach.

Temple was 32-2 and hit No. 1 that season under John Chaney.

Penn was 28-1 and reached No. 3 before losing to Villanova in the Elite Eight.

And St. Joseph's (30-2) reached No. 1  before losing to Oklahoma State in the Elite Eight.

"These five teams were magnificent squads who brought great joy and pride to the City of Philadelphia," Big Five executive director Steve Bilsky said in a statement.

Bilsky was a member of the Penn team being inducted and already is an individual member of the Hall.

"Over the last few years, we had tossed around the idea of selecting a year to honor teams rather than individuals, and decided that the 60th anniversary would be an appropriate time. In addition to all the wonderful players who participated on these great teams, you can't help but be reminded why the Big Five is often referred to as the cradle of college basketball coaches."

Bilsky added that women's teams would eventually be added.