Junior running back Saquon Barkley and senior free safety Marcus Allen of Penn State led a group of 12 Nittany Lions named Tuesday to the all-Big Ten teams for defense and special teams.

Barkley, who returned two kickoffs for touchdowns this season, was named to the all-conference first team as a return specialist by the coaches and media. Allen was named to the first team by coaches and second team by the media.

On defense, the coaches also selected senior linebacker Jason Cabinda and redshirt junior cornerback Amani Oruwariye to the second team. Oruwariye also made the media's second team, and redshirt sophomore defensive end Shareef Miller (George Washington) earned third-team honors in the media voting.

Cabinda was named honorable mention by the media, and Miller received honorable mention recognition from the coaches.

Penn State's starting cornerbacks, seniors Grant Haley and Christian Campbell, were named honorable mention by both the coaches and media. Fifth-year senior defensive tackle Curtis Cothran (Central Bucks North) was an honorable-mention choice by the coaches, and seniors Parker Cothren and Troy Apke earned honorable mention from the media.

Sophomore punter Blake Gillikin was named second-team all-conference by both the coaches and media, and redshirt junior wide receiver DeAndre Thompkins received second-team recognition as a return specialist by the coaches and third team by the media.

In addition, the Big Ten announced its sportsmanship award honorees, and senior linebacker Brandon Smith was named from Penn State.

The Big Ten will name its all-conference team on offense Wednesday. Individual award winners will be announced Thursday.