Villanova quarterback John Robertson is among three finalists for the Walter Payton Award, the Football Championship Subdivision's version of the Heisman Trophy.

The winner will be announced at the Sports Network FCS awards banquet Dec. 15 in Philadelphia. A panel of media and college sports information directors will decide the winner.

Villanova has had two previous Walter Payton Award winners, wide receiver Brian Finnneran in 1997 and running back Brian Westbrook in 2001.

All three of this year's finalists are quarterbacks, including Eastern Washington's Vernon Adams Jr. and Idaho State's Justin Arias.

A redshirt junior, Robertson has led Villanova to a 10-2 record and berth in the FCS playoffs. After a first-round bye, the Wildcats will host Liberty on Saturday at 4:30 p.m.

Roberson has completed 189 of 282 passes for 2,629 yards, 34 touchdowns and just three interceptions. He also has rushed for 978 yards and nine touchdowns. He has been named offensive player of the year in the Colonial Athletic Association.

Adams has thrown for 2,876 yards with 30 touchdowns and five interceptions even though he missed four games with a broken foot. His Eastern Washington team hosts Montana in a second-round game on Saturday.

Arias led Idaho State to an 8-4 record. He threw for 4,076 yards with 38 touchdowns and 10 interceptions.