Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

No Eagles picked for Pro Bowl

NEW YORK - Sensational comebacks have Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson headed for the Pro Bowl on Jan. 27 in Honolulu.

NEW YORK - Sensational comebacks have Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson headed for the Pro Bowl on Jan. 27 in Honolulu.

Also selected Wednesday for the NFL's all-star game was Washington rookie quarterback Robert Griffin III.

No Eagles were voted onto the NFC roster. The last time that happened was 1998 - Ray Rhodes' final season in Philadelphia. Guard Evan Mathis is a third alternate.

Atlanta quarterback Matt Ryan, who starred at Penn Charter, joined RGIII and Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers on the NFC squad.

Houston's Matt Schaub, who was a standout at West Chester East, is one of the AFC quarterbacks with New England's Tom Brady and Manning.

Baltimore running back Ray Rice, the former Rutgers star, is on the AFC squad with Kansas City linebacker Tamba Hali and Miami defensive end Cameron Wake, both from Penn State. San Francisco's NaVorro Bowman, a former Penn State linebacker, is an NFC starter.

After missing last season with neck and back problems that required several operations, Manning signed with Denver and led the team to the AFC West title.

Minnesota's Peterson tore up his left knee on Christmas Eve last year, underwent surgery, then was back for the opener. He has a career-high 1,898 yards.

Pro Bowl Rosters


 OFFENSE - Quarterbacks: Tom Brady, New England; Peyton Manning, Denver; Matt Schaub, Houston. Running Backs: Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Arian Foster, Houston; Ray Rice, Baltimore. Fullback: Vonta Leach, Baltimore. Wide Receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston; Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis; Wes Welker, New England. Tight Ends: Rob Gronkowski, New England; Heath Miller, Pittsburgh. Tackles: Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver; Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Marshall Yanda, Baltimore. Guards: Logan Mankins, New England; Wade Smith, Houston. Centers: Chris Myers, Houston; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

DEFENSE - Ends: Elvis Dumervil, Denver; Cameron Wake, Miami; J.J. Watt, Houston. Interior Linemen: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; Vince Wilfork, New England. Outside Linebackers: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Von Miller, Denver. Inside/Middle Linebackers: Derrick Johnson, Kansas City; Jerod Mayo, New England. Cornerbacks: Champ Bailey, Denver; Antonio Cromartie, N.Y. Jets; Johnathan Joseph, Houston. Strong Safeties: Eric Berry, Kansas City; LaRon Landry, N.Y. Jets . Free Safety: Ed Reed, Baltimore

SPECIALISTS - Placekicker: Phil Dawson, Cleveland. Punter: Dustin Colquitt, Kansas City. Kick Returner: Jacoby Jones, Baltimore. Special Team: Matthew Slater, New England


OFFENSE - Quarterbacks: Robert Griffin III, Washington; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay; Matt Ryan, Atlanta. Running Backs: Frank Gore, San Francisco; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle; Adrian Peterson, Minnesota. Fullback: Jerome Felton, Minnesota. Wide Receivers: Victor Cruz, N.Y. Giants; Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Julio Jones, Atlanta; Brandon Marshall, Chicago. Tight Ends: Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta; Jason Witten, Dallas. Tackles: Russell Okung, Seattle; Joe Staley, San Francisco; Trent Williams, Washington. Guards: Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants. Centers: Jeff Saturday, Green Bay; Max Unger, Seattle.

DEFENSE - Ends: Jared Allen, Minnesota; Julius Peppers, Chicago; Jason Pierre-Paul, N.Y. Giants. Interior Linemen: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Henry Melton, Chicago; Justin Smith, San Francisco. Outside Linebackers: Clay Matthews, Green Bay; Aldon Smith, San Francisco; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas. Inside/Middle Linebackers: NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco; Patrick Willis, San Francisco. Cornerbacks: Tim Jennings, Chicago; Patrick Peterson, Arizona; Charles Tillman, Chicago. Strong Safeties: Donte Whitner, San Francisco. Free Safeties: Dashon Goldson, San Francisco; Earl Thomas, Seattle.

SPECIALISTS - Placekicker: Blair Walsh, Minnesota. Punter: Thomas Morstead, New Orleans. Kick Returner: Leon Washington, Seattle. Special Team: Lorenzo Alexander, Washington.