Skip to content
Link copied to clipboard

Giroux finalist for another award

Flyers captain Claude Giroux is nominated for the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the NHL's top player.

Flyers captain Claude Giroux. (Chris Szagola/AP)
Flyers captain Claude Giroux. (Chris Szagola/AP)Read more

CLAUDE GIROUX was announced yesterday as one of three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the top overall player in the NHL, as voted by his peers.

Giroux, 26, closed with 79 points in his final 67 games of the regular season. Anaheim's Ryan Getzlaf and Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby also were nominated. The award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is the only one voted on by players themselves. The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards on June 24 in Las Vegas.

The three players also are finalists for the Hart Trophy, which goes to the league's most valuable player.

Bob Clarke (1974) and Eric Lindros (1995) are the only Flyers to win the award.