Skip to content
Rally High School Sports
Link copied to clipboard

A stepping-stone to college sports

Haddonfield says 20 seniors will compete at the next level.

For the last three decades, no South Jersey school has dominated its conference like Haddonfield.

So it's not surprising that Haddonfield will have 20 of its senior athletes compete on the collegiate level next year, athletic director Lefteris "Lefty" Banos announced yesterday.

"It's another great class of Haddonfield athletes that believes in the tradition of the school and works hard to continue that tradition," Banos said.

The Colonial Conference names an all-sports award each year that is based on points accumulated by conference finishes in all boys' and girls' sports. Haddonfield has clinched the award for the 30th straight season, Banos said.

It also has a good chance to win its fifth straight state Group 2 Shop-Rite Cup, awarded to the school that has the most success in its section.

Here are the Haddonfield seniors who will compete athletically in college:


Luke Peyton, University of the Sciences of Philadelphia.


Anne Maloney, Flagler.


Antonia Moran, North Carolina; T.J. Zaleski, Holy Cross; Matthew Oatway, Dartmouth; Allison Pescatore, Boston University.


Alyssa D'Orazio, College of Charleston; Dan Carreon, Calvin College.

Field hockey:

Kirsten Snyder, Penn.


Bryce Arruda, Lehigh; Gregg Mercogliano, Muhlenberg; Stephen Cohn, Juniata; Thomas DeFina, Union.


Kristina Lee, Rutgers-Piscataway; Brett Hagen, Rutgers-Camden; David Vick, Kenyon.


Fran Nicoletti, Bloomsburg; Margaret Lupinski, St. Joseph's.

Track and field:

Kirsten King, Ursinus.


John Gregorio, Rutgers-Piscataway.

Sterling Hall of Famers.

Sterling inducted 12 members into its athletic Hall of Fame at a banquet last night at the Stone Grille in Clementon.

The inductees were Michael Barikian, Class of 2000, wrestling; Jessica Copskey, Class of 2001, girls' basketball; Linda Dougherty, Class of 1982, track; Kathy Ezell, Class of 1982, track; Dennis Harkins, all-sports contributor; Bill Hiltner, boys' basketball coach and athletic director; Gary Kasprack, former superintendent, all-sports contributor; Dan Swallow, Class of 1985, baseball and football; Ernest Turner, Class of 2001, boys' basketball; John Watts, coach, golf, football, softball and volleyball; Keith Wright, Class of 1999, boys' basketball; and Michael Wynne, Class of 1995, football.