Backed by Devon Prep's solid defense, Ian Smith pitched out of a bases-loaded jam in the first inning and guided the Tide to the PIAA District 1 Class AA baseball championship with an 11-5 win over New Hope-Solebury on Thursday at Upper Merion.

Smith entered the game in relief with the bases loaded, no outs and a 2-0 count. He got two infield pop-ups and a fly ball to center field to end the threat.

Devon's victory ended New Hope's three-year reign as District 1 champion and avenged an 11-7 regular-season loss suffered on May 11.

"This is the first baseball championship for us since 1996," Devon coach Mark Aquilante said. "We lost to New Hope the past couple of years, so this is a great win for our kids. They deserve a ton of credit."

Sophomore John Laprise had two doubles, two RBIs and scored two runs, while senior Joe Donatoni drove in three runs and scored three times and Smith went 2 for 4 with two RBIs.

District 12 Class AAA. Archbishop Wood (20-2) claimed the district title as junior righthander Larry Brittingham threw a 10-0 one-hitter against Franklin Towne Charter (8-13) at Rich Ashburn Field.

Brittingham (6-0) allowed only a fourth-inning infield single in the five-inning contest and struck out seven batters.

Wood, with just four senior starters, was led by Jeff Courter's 3 for 3 batting and two RBIs, Kyle McCrossen's two hits and one run batted in, and Mike Spahits' two-run triple during a five-run third inning.

The Vikings advance to the state tournament on Monday against the second seed from District 3.

District 1 Class AAAA. Owen J. Roberts claimed the No. 3 seed from District 1 for next week's state tournament by whipping Great Valley, 14-0, in a consolation game at Perkiomen Valley.

David Vining pitched three of the five innings to get the win and also belted a bases-empty home run in the third inning. Reliever Zach Boehmer completed the three-hit shutout.

The Wildcats erupted for 11 runs on 10 hits in the top of the first inning. Brandon Englehardt tripled twice in the inning, including a two-run triple in his second at-bat, and David Raifsnider drove in two runs with a sacrifice fly and a double.

All of the Owen J. Roberts (22-4) starters had at least one hit, sending the Wildcats into the state tournament against Pleasant Valley on Monday.

Baseball All-Stars


First Team

P: Rob McKenna, Wissahickon (MVP)

P: Anthony Caringi, Cheltenham

C: Dave McInerney, Upper Moreland

1B: J.T. Crits, Wissahickon

2B: Lucas Armstrong, Upper Moreland

3B: Tim Troyer, Upper Dublin

SS: Matt Brown, Cheltenham

OF: Casey Hammond, Upper Dublin

OF: Ryan McDonough, Wissahickon

OF: Jake Kring-Schreifels, Cheltenham

DH: Eric Ellinger, Plymouth Whitemarsh

Second Team

Pitcher: Steve Wallace, Plymouth Whitemarsh; Tim Troyer, Upper Dublin. Catcher: Bobby Slagle, Plymouth Whitemarsh. 1B: Ben Dworecki, Upper Merion. 2B: Brandon Bell, Norristown. 3B: Tim Santry, Upper Moreland. Shortstop: Sean Valenza, Upper Moreland. Outfield: Brett Haislup, Plymouth Whitemarsh; Matt Shannon, Upper Merion; Anthony Caringi, Cheltenham. Designated hitter: Nick Sunderland, Wissahickon.


First Team

P: Nick Hinkson, Hatboro-Horsham

P: Bryce Mengel, North Penn

C: Joe Mullin, Central Bucks South

1B: Pat Furst, Central Bucks West

2B: Dan Seitzinger, Central Bucks West

3B: Ray Puskar, Pennridge

SS: Dylan Tice, Pennridge

OF: Buzz Lis, Central Bucks West

OF: Ryan Pater, Central Bucks East

OF: Kurt Roberts, Quakertown

Desig. player: Brian Happ, Central Bucks South

Second Team

Pitcher: R.J. Grant, Central Bucks West; Keith Moyer, Souderton. Catcher: Mike Divona, Central Bucks East. 1B: Doug Pricockis, Central Bucks South. 2B: Sean Trymbiski, Central Bucks East. 3B: Matt Hanson, Central Bucks West. Shortstop: Jayson Rathjens, Quakertown. Outfield: Tim Eversole, Pennridge; Cory McGinn, Souderton; Brandon Martinez, North Penn. Designated player: Ryan Sheffer, Pennridge.


First Team

Dezmond Lites, Academy of the New Church; Nick Tate, Academy of the New Church; Sean Cohen, Moorestown Friends; Nate Simon, Abington Friends; Vince Ceriale, Shipley; Will Culp, Shipley; Kyle Rosenbluth, Shipley; Jesse Biddle, Germantown Friends; Josh Goldenberg, Germantown Friends; Ben Rogers, Germantown Friends; John McCann, Shipley; Paul Cotler, Friends' Central; Ed Rooney, Friends' Central; Beau Hauser, Friends' Central; Erich Sirinek, Westtown; Vaclav Hasik, Westtown.